Source: Tom Flathers/Man City via Getty Images

Nominees for FA WSL1 Save of the Year and Goal of the Year

  • +1

After a gripping season in The FA Women’s Super League 1, The FA has announced the nominees for the inaugural FA WSL 1 Save of the Year award and Goal of the Year Award.

FA WSL 1 Save of the Year

The shortlist consists of a sterling line up of the league’s best shot stoppers including Chelsea’s Carly Telford, Arsenal’s Sari Van Veenendaal and two Manchester City keepers, Karen Bardsley and Ellie Roebuck. Also in contention for the award are Bristol City’s Sophie Baggaley and Liverpool’s Siobhan Chamberlain. Watch all the saves and vote for your favourite via The FA’s Twitter page here and online here

Save 1 – Carly Telford – Chelsea v Reading

Save 2 – Sari Van Veenendaal – Arsenal v Bristol City

Save 3 – Siobhan Chamberlain – Liverpool v Bristol City

Save 4 – Ellie Roebuck – Chelsea v Manchester City

Save 5 – Sophie Baggaley – Arsenal v Bristol City

Save 6 – Karen Bardsley – Arsenal v Manchester City

Katie Brazier, Head of Women’s Leagues and Competitions at The FA, said: “We are delighted to introduce this new award to showcase the level of great goalkeeping present throughout the league. An increased number of young girls want to become goalkeepers and that is testament to not just the keepers shortlisted but to all the great goalkeeping role models in the game. The shortlist is made up of some phenomenal saves; it will no doubt be tough for fans to pick an outright winner.”

FA WSL 1 Goal of the Year award

Bristol City’s Lauren Hemp, Sunderland’s Lucy Staniforth and Arsenal’s Dominique Janssen are joined on the list by Manchester City’s Georgia Stanway and the Reading pair of Fara Williams and Remi Allen. Watch all the goals and vote for your favourite via The FA’s Facebook page here and Twitter page here.

Goal 1 – Fara Williams- Liverpool v Reading

Goal 2 – Lauren Hemp – Arsenal v Bristol City

Goal 3 – Lucy Staniforth – Sunderland v Liverpool

Goal 4 – Dominique Janssen – Liverpool v Arsenal

Goal 5 – Georgia Stanway – Manchester City v Chelsea

Goal 6 – Remi Allen – Manchester City v Reading

Adam Sills, Head of Sport, The Telegraph said: “We’re delighted to be involved in The Telegraph FA WSL 1 Goal of the Year for the first time. It’s an exciting award to be associated with and the excellence of each goal is a testament to the ever-growing quality and entertainment fans can expect from the FA WSL.”

The winners will be announced at the 20th annual FA Women’s Football Awards on Friday 1 June. The ceremony will celebrate the very best of women’s football including grassroots, domestic and international football. Voting is now open right up until the night of the awards itself on 1 June.

Lead photo shows Manchester City’s Georgia Stanway iwith her FA Women’s Super League 1 Player of the Month award for February 2018.

Courtesy of the FA via Pitch