Source: New Zealand Rugby

40 new Black Ferns contracts announced

  • +1

As the 2024 Super Aupiki concludes, New Zealand Rugby has announced the 40 recipients of new contracts.

They are:

Alana Bremner, Aldora Itunu, Amy du Plessis, Amy Rule, Ariana Bayler, Atlanta Lolohea, Ayesha
Leti-I’iga, Awhi Tangen-Wainohu, Charmaine Smith, Chelsea Bremner, Chryss Viliko, Georgia
Ponsonby, Grace Steinmetz, Hannah King, Iritana Hohaia, Joanah Ngan Woo, Kahlia Awa, Kaipo
Olsen-Baker, Kate Henwood, Katelyn Vahaakolo, Kennedy Simon, Liana Mikaele-Tu’u, Layla Sae,
Logo-I-Pulotu Lemapu Atai’i (Sylvia) Brunt, Lucy Jenkins (Matatū, Canterbury), Luka Connor,
Leaso Grace Gago Tiatia, Maama Vaipulu, Maia Joseph, Maiakawanakaulani Roos, Marcelle
Parkes, Mererangi Paul, Monica Tagoai, Patricia Maliepo, Renee Holmes, Ruahei Demant, Ruby
Tui, Santo Taumata, Sophie Fisher, Tanya Kalounivale

Two names reappear from the past, Aldora Itunu and Monica Tagoai. Two to disappear are Martha
Mataele and Arihiana Marino-Tauhinu.

This is in preparation for the new series of the Pacific Four. The Black Ferns are due to meet the
USA on 11 May at the Waikato Stadium, Hamilton.

In last year’a series the Ferns proved unbeatable. Tney will be anxious to repeat that feat, as
greater challenges follow: the WXV starting in Canada on 27 September, then the pinnacle, the
World Cup in England starting on 22 August 2025.

Of course a list of contracts does not exclude other players coming into consideration. Kiwi voices
are already adding their suggestions to the published names.

Leave a Reply

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked *