Source: England Rugby

England name final squad for World Sevens series in Brazil

  • +1

England Women’s Sevens Head Coach Simon Middleton has named his final squad of 12 players for this weekend’s second round of the Sevens World Series in Sao Paulo, Brazil.

A 14-player squad travelled to Sao Paulo last week for a week of warm-weather training and Middleton has now named his final 12 to compete in the host country of the 2016 Olympic Games.

Richmond’s Abigail Chamberlain will captain England as she leads a team who will be looking to improve on their Plate win in Dubai in December.

England will be boosted by the return of World Cup winning captain Katy Mclean who will make her first start for England since lifting the World Cup in August. Also, fellow World Cup winners Marlie Packer and Natasha Brennan will make their sevens debuts this season. Only Sarah McKenna and Leanne Riley miss out this time around.

England will play South Africa, Canada and Russia in the pool stages at the Arena Barueri on Saturday before hoping to better a Plate finish on day two.

England Sevens squad

Claire Allan (Richmond)

Natasha Brennan (Richmond)

Rachael Burford (VC) (Thurrock)

Abi Chamberlain (C) (Richmond)

Natasha Hunt (Lichfield)

Katy Mclean (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks)

Marlie Packer  (Wasps)

Alice Richardson (Richmond)

Michaela Staniford (Wasps)

Danielle Waterman (Bristol)

Joanne Watmore (Richmond)

Amy  Wilson-Hardy (Bristol)

WSWS Brazil playing schedule

Saturday, February 7

England v South Africa, 228pm GMT

England v Russia, 534pm GMT

England v Canada, 756pm GMT

Sunday, February 8

Knock out stages TBC