Source: Mike Lee - KLC fotos for World Rugby

England Women Sevens squad named for Langford

  • +1

England Women Sevens head coach James Bailey has named his 12-player squad for the HSBC Langford Sevens on 11-12 May, streamed live via

There are two changes to the side that won silver in the previous World Series tournament in Kitakyushu.

After missing out on selection for Japan through injury Deborah Fleming and Heather Fisher will make their returns in Canada this weekend.

Captain Abbie Brown will lead the side as they face China, Russia and New Zealand in Pool B in the group stage of the competition on day one.

Commenting on selection Bailey said: “To have Deborah and Heather back in the squad for this tournament is a great boost and they’ve both worked really hard getting themselves back to fitness and are raring to go.

“While it’s tough for Lizzie Adam and Emma Hardy to miss out after performing well in Japan helping the side to that second place finish, it’s testament to the competition we have within the squad and the players are all really pushing each other for places.”

Held at the Westhills Stadium, Langford is the fifth round of the 2019 HSBC World Rugby Women’s Sevens Series.

Bailey added: “As a squad we were proud of the achievement in Japanand we want to build on that and take the positives from our performance going into Langford.

“This group of players has been really resilient over the past weeks and months and I cannot fault the work rate of everyone involved. We’re at the start of an exciting journey and we want to go out to Canada and put in some more good performances as a squad.”

England Women Sevens squad for Langford:

Holly Aitchison
Abbie Brown (C)
Abi Burton
Heather Fisher
Deborah Fleming
Megan Jones
Ellie Kildunne
Alex Matthews
Celia Quansah
Helena Rowland
Emma Uren
Amy Wilson Hardy

England’s Pool B fixtures, all times BST, streamed live on

England v China, 18:44, Saturday 11 May
England v Russia, 21:28, Saturday 11 May
England v New Zealand, 00:12, Sunday 12 May

Courtesy of England Rugby