Source: Mike Lee KLC Fotos

Team England 7s Groups for Commonwealth Games

  • +1

Team England have discovered their groups for the 2018 Commonwealth Games in the Gold Coast in Australia.

The women’s side have been placed in Pool B and will face Australia, Fiji and Wales.

Meanwhile, the men’s team have been drawn in Pool B along with Australia, Samoa and Jamaica.

The matches will take place at the 27,500-capacity Robina Stadium across three days of competition between 13-15 April.

England’s men finished fifth at the 2014 Commonwealth Games in Glasgow, while this is the first year that the women’s competition will take place.

Only the teams who finish top of the four pools will advance to the semi-finals and play off for medals.

Commenting on the women’s draw, England Women Sevens head coach James Bailey added: “Initial thoughts are that we are extremely excited to be in a really competitive pool and the opportunity to play the host nation is going to be an incredible experience for us.

“With Fiji who are an exciting team as well as our close neighbours Wales, it’s a strong pool with a lot of World Series experience.

“The Commonwealth Games is one of our main focuses this season so we’ll be doing a lot of preparation towards this and how we can get ourselves in the best position possible for these pool games.”

While head of England Sevens Simon Amor said of the men’s: “Having seen the draw it’s a pretty tough one but we’re really excited about it.”

“I recall from my own Commonwealth Games in 2006 when we played Australia that it was one of the best atmospheres that I can remember playing in, so we’re really looking forward to that game.

“Samoa are also a really great, physical and tough team so that’ll be another fantastic challenge for us and we’ll relish the opportunity to play against a Jamaican team that we obviously don’t know a lot about.

“A tough pool, but a really exciting one and it’ll be a great one for us to bring out the very best of ourselves.”

Women’s rugby sevens draw:

POOL A: New Zealand, Canada, South Africa, Kenya
POOL B: Australia, Fiji, England, Wales


Men’s rugby sevens draw: 

POOL A: South Africa, Scotland, Papua New Guinea, Malaysia
POOL B: England, Australia, Samoa, Jamaica
POOL C: New Zealand, Canada, Kenya, Zambia
POOL D: Fiji, Wales, Uganda, Sri Lanka

Report courtesy of the RFU