Source: LCB

Lancashire Women name Senior Squad for 2017

  • +1

LCB Women, the Red Rose County’s first and second team for Women, has named a 21 women squad for the 2017 season.

First Team Captain Megan Fairclough from Egerton CC, Bolton has new recruits Evelyn Jones and New Zealand Women’s Amy Satterthwaite to offer strength and depth with the bat along with spin options from England Women’s Alex Hartley.

Home grown Lancastrian and England Women’s pace bowler Kate Cross will continue to add plenty of experience to the squad. Amy Satterthwaite, New Zealand and Lancashire Thunder player, is a major signing as the overseas player and will add a wealth of knowledge and experience of white ball cricket to the squad.

Additionally, LCB Women will have England Senior Academy players Emma Lamb, Ellie Threlkeld, Evelyn Jones and Sophie Ecclestone to offer good options with bat, ball and behind the stumps. 4 girls who have played in the LCB Girls County Age Group squads have graduated to the senior squad for the first time in 2017, these include fast bowler Ella Telford, batters Rebecca Duckworth and Evie Priestley and wicket keeper Georgie Holt.

Daniel Atkinson, LCB Women Head Coach, said: “All of the women have worked really hard this winter and are looking forward to the start of the outdoor season on Sunday. It really shows how many high quality senior women we have around the system now, that we can put out two strong teams on the opening day of the season with some of our senior internationals still away.

“I know the team are really looking forward to the season ahead and the challenges that it will bring and that competition for places will be fierce, which is something that we have aimed for, for quite a while.

“We are really excited to welcome our new signings and we hope to challenge in the top flight of both the Royal London Women’s One-Day Championship (Division 1) and NatWest Women’s County T20 (Division 1).”

Full squad including numbers:

Megan Fairclough – Captain (4) – Egerton CC [Right arm bowler]

Natalie Brown (10) – Sutton CC [Right hand batter]

Eleanor Threlkeld (21) – Rainford CC [Wicket-keeper]

Bhumika Doshi (14) – Egerton CC [Right hand batter]

Nalisha Patel (15) – Horwich RMI CC [Right arm off spinner]

Emma Lamb (6) – Bramhall CC [Right hand batter]

Hannah Jones (7) – Didsbury CC [Left arm spinner]

Jessica Couser (9) – Walmley CC [Right hand batter]

Laura Jackson (22) – Maghull CC [All-rounder]

Laura Marshall (12) – Lindal Moor CC [Right hand batter]

Rachel Dickinson (17) – Burscough CC [Right arm seamer]

Sophie Ecclestone (19) – Chester Broughton Hall CC [Left arm spinner]

Kate Cross (16) – Heywood CC [Right arm seamer]

Shachi Pai (18) – Egerton CC [Right hand bat]

New to the squad for 2017:

Evie Priestley (25) – Todmorden CC [All-rounder]

Georgie Holt (27) – Lowerhouse CC [Wicket-keeper]

Rebecca Duckworth (26) – Penwortham CC [Right hand batter]

Evelyn Jones (3) – Whitchurch CC [Left hand batter]

Alex Hartley (8) – Clitheroe CC [Left arm spinner]

Ella Telford (5) – Penrith [Right arm seamer]

Amy Satterthwaite (11) – Overseas player (New Zealand Women) [Left hand batter and right arm off spinner]

For the opening fixtures in the Royal London Women’s One-Day Championship Division 1 this bank holiday weekend Atkinson has named the following players:

Middlesex on 30 April: Fairclough (captain), Brown, Ecclestone, Threlkeld, Telford, Satterthwaite, Jackson, Patel, Priestley, Dickinson, Duckworth, Pai.

Berkshire on 01 May: Fairclough (captain), Brown, Ecclestone, Threlkeld, Telford, Satterthwaite, Jackson, Patel, Lamb, Jones, Dickinson, Duckworth, Pai.

Full list of fixtures for LCB Women First Team available below:

Type Date Opponents H/A Start Venue
RL 30/04/2017 Middlesex Home 11am St Annes CC
RL 01/05/2017 Berkshire Home 11am Urmston CC
RL 14/05/2017 Yorkshire Away TBC Harrogate CC
RL 28/05/2017 Kent Away TBC Spitfire Ground
RL 29/05/2017 Sussex Away TBC BACA Campus
NWT20 18/06/2017 Kent Away 13:30 TBC
Berkshire Away 16:30 TBC
NWT20 02/07/2017 Somerset Home 10:30 Widnes CC
Middlesex Home 16:30 Widnes CC
NWT20 16/07/2017 Birmingham Bears Away 10:30 TBC
Sussex Away 13:30 TBC
NWT20 30/07/2017 Surrey Away 10:30 TBC
Yorkshire Away 13:30 TBC
RL 27/08/2017 Nottinghamshire Home TBC Heywood CC
RL 28/08/2017 Warwickshire Away TBC TBC

RL = Royal London Women’s One-Day Championship Division 1

NWT20 = NatWest Women’s County T20 Division 1

The LCB Women Second Team has also been selected for Sunday 30 April v Yorkshire at Widnes CC 11:00am start, the squad will be: Alice Clarke, Danielle Collins, Jessica Couser, Sophie Heaton, Hannah Jones (captain), Georgie Holt (wicket-keeper), Rosh Navaratnam, Millie Hodge, Kate Coppack, Anjalie Singh, Eve Whaling, Kathryn Jackson.

Photo shows LCB Women squad:


Emma Lamb, Alex Hartley, Kate Cross, Megan Fairclough, Natalie Brown, Jessica Couser, Ellie Threlkeld


Michael Cregan (Scorer), Chris Chambers (Assistant Coach), Laura Marshall, Shachi Pai, Evelyn Jones, Rachel Dickinson, Sophie Ecclestone, Nalisha Patel, Ella Telford, Daniel Atkinson (Head Coach), Jen Barden (Manager)


Rebecca Duckworth, Georgie Holt, Evie Priestley, Christina Carr (Strength & Conditioning Coach), Laura Jackson, Bhumika Doshi, Hannah Jones

Report courtesy of Lancashire Cricket Board