Source: The FA

Nominations Announced for FA Women’s Football Awards

  • +1

The nominations for this year’s FA Women’s Football Awards have been announced ahead of next month’s event and they include several members of the England squad.

Birmingham City’s Karen Carney, Notts County’s Jess Clarke and Chelsea’s Ji So Yun have been nominated for FA WSL 1 players’ player of the year, which will be awarded at the event on Friday 14 November.

Millie Bright (Doncaster Rovers Belles), Fran Kirby (Reading) and Beth Mead (Sunderland) are shortlisted for the FA WSL 2 award.

Liverpool, who won FA WSL 1 in dramatic fashion on the last day of the season, have manager Matt Beard nominated for manager of the year, alongside Birmingham City’s David Parker and former Reading manager Jayne Ludlow, who has recently taken charge of the Welsh national team.

Fans can vote for their FA WSL goal of the season, with Dunia Susi, Natasha Dowie, Natasha Flint, Jordan Nobbs, Leah Williamson and Toni Duggan all in contention for the award, via

The awards are an annual event recognising the best of domestic women’s football in England, across the two FA WSL divisions and the FA Women’s Premier League (WPL).  Other awards categories on the night include club of the year, which was won by Bristol Academy last season, Love Football Play Football participation award and outstanding contribution to women’s football.

The best of the FA WPL, for season 2013-14, will also be recognised, with James Marrs (formerly Gillingham, now Brighton & Hove Albion), Helen Mitchell (Sheffield FC) and Craig Nicholls (Coventry) all shortlisted for manager of the year and players awards, club of the year also being contested.

Katie Brazier, FA head of women’s leagues and competitions, said: “It has been a fantastic year for women’s football and the awards will celebrate the best of the game.  There have been some real highlights such as the introduction of FA WSL 2, the final day title race drama in both divisions and the fact that our attendances in FA WSL 1 have gone up 30 per cent on average compare to last season.  The newly structured FA WPL is also off to a great start and the awards will really showcase just how far the domestic game has come.”

The awards take place nine days before England’s historic match against Germany at Wembley Stadium on Sunday 23 November.  Tickets are on sale now priced at £15 for adults and £1 for children from

The complete list of nominations is as follows:

FA WSL Manager of the Year

Matt Beard, Liverpool

Jayne Ludlow, Reading

David Parker, Birmingham City

FA WPL Manager of the Year

James Marrs, Gillingham

Helen Mitchell, Sheffield FC

Craig Nicholls, Coventry City

Goal of the Season

Dunia Susi, Notts County v Aston Villa, 30 April

Natasha Dowie, Liverpool v Sunderland on 3 May

Natasha Flint, Chelsea v Manchester City on 20 July

Jordan Nobbs, Manchester City v Arsenal on 24 August

Leah Williamson, Arsenal v Chelsea on 4 September

Toni Duggan, Manchester City v Chelsea on 12 October

Players’ Player of the Year


Karen Carney, Birmingham City

Jess Clarke, Notts County

Ji So Yun, Chelsea


Millie Bright, Doncaster Rovers Belles

Fran Kirby, Reading

Beth Mead, Sunderland

FA WSL Development League

Natasha Baptiste, Aston Villa

Carla Humphrey, Arsenal

Katie Zelem, Liverpool

FA WPL Players’ Player of the Year

Charlotte Gurr, Gillingham

Jodie Michalska, Sheffield FC

Sam Pittuck, Charlton Athletic

Lucy Quinn, Portsmouth

FA WSL Club of the Year


Yeovil Town

FA WPL Club of the Year

Derby County

Sheffield FC

Tottenham Hotspur

Outstanding Contribution to Women’s Football Nominees

Julie Higgins

Sheila Rollinson

Tom Stack