England squads selected for autumn tour and Fast5 tournament

  • +1

Anna Mayes names squads for clashes in Australia and New Zealand

Following a rigorous selection weekend, England Netball is delighted to announce the squads for the upcoming autumn tour to Australia and New Zealand and the subsequent Fast 5 tournament to be hosted in Auckland.

Unfortunately, the tour comes too soon for Pamela Cookey who is continuing her rehabilitation progress with an injury that also ruled her out of the Commonwealth Games. Due to this, Pamela was not considered for selection in these squads.

Anna Mayes take her team out to Australia seeking to produce more stunning performances as was the case when these two sides met at the Commonwealth Games. Hopefully, for fans of the ladies in red, the results have a happier outcome after an agonising one goal reverse in Glasgow.

The opening clash takes place in Bendigo on the 19th October with the second and final game against the current World and Commonwealth champions four days later in Canberra.

Another familiar foe awaits across the Tasman Sea as the Silver Ferns provide the opposition for two more international fixtures. We take on New Zealand in Rotorua and Palmerston North on October 28th and 31st respectively.

As was the case with the Diamonds, England went down by a solitary goal to New Zealand at the Commonwealth Games and this provides netball fans another chance to watch these two heavyweights give it their all on court.

Little over a week later the England Fives will be in action as the annual Fast 5 competition is once against hosted in Auckland. This year the action has been streamlined into two days of match play with each nation playing each other once and the semi-final stages scrapped. The top two from the league table will face off for Fast 5 glory.

The squad selected for the autumn tour is as follows;

Jade Clarke (C), Ama Agbeze, Rosie Allison, Sara Bayman, Eboni Beckford-Chambers, Sam Cook, Kadeen Corbin, Sasha Corbin, Rachel Dunn, Stacey Francis, Serena Guthrie, Jo Harten, Helen Housby, Geva Mentor

The squad selected for the Fast 5 tournament is as follows;

Jade Clarke (C), Ama Agbeze, Rosie Allison, Sara Bayman, Eboni Beckford-Chambers, Sam Cook, Kadeen Corbin, Rachel Dunn, Serena Guthrie, Jo Harten,

England’s upcoming fixtures:

Australia v England – Saturday 19th October, Bendigo

Australia v England – Wednesday 22nd October, Canberra

New Zealand v England – Tuesday 28th October, Rotorua

New Zealand v England – Friday 31st October, Palmerston North

Fast 5 2014 Tournament – Saturday 9th November & Sunday 10th November, Auckland

Follow all of the action as it happens on the official England Netball twitter and facebook pages.