Source: Harlequins

Harlequins side name unchanged side to face Lightning

  • +1

Harlequins have named an unchanged side to face Loughborough Lightning, as Allianz Premiership Women’s Rugby returns to The Stoop for the first time in 2024.

Danelle Lochner starts at lock off the back of two huge performances against Gloucester-Hartpury and Leicester Tigers. Lochner will be partnered by Kaitlan Leaney in the second-row, who was this week voted as Wallaroos Player of the Year.

Sarah Bonar and Abbie Fleming start on the flanks with Shaunagh Brown bringing her carrying power from number eight.

Lucy Packer will look to make her first start of the season having pulled out of last week’s clash with Leicester Tigers last-minute due to illness.

Rachael Burford captains the side from 12 partnering Lagi Tuima in the midfield.

Freya Aucken will lead the team out on the afternoon of her 50th Harlequins appearance, as she starts on the wing.

Harlequins Head Coach Amy Turner said: “It was good to get back to winning ways against Leicester last week, and we’ve looked to build on that this week in training. Loughborough’s brand of rugby is exciting and their set piece game is consistently very good, so we’ve got to front up there to take control and play our game.

“The Stoop is our home and we’re very proud of that, we want to back up last week’s performance against Leicester with a good result at home in front of our fans.”

Harlequins Starting XV
1. Silvia Turani
2. Connie Powell
3. Bryony Cleall
4. Danelle Lochner
5. Kaitlan Leaney
6. Sarah Bonar
7. Abbie Fleming
8. Shaunagh Brown
9. Lucy Packer
10. Emily Scott
11. Beth Wilcock
12. Rachael Burford ©
13. Lagi Tuima
14. Freya Aucken
15. Ellie Kildunne

Impact Players
16. Rosie Dobson
17. Hannah Sims
18. Babalwa Latsha
19. Ciara Cooney
20. Aseza Hele
21. Flo Robinson
22. Ella Cromack
23. Izzy Mayhew

Leave a Reply

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked *