Source: Getty Images

Vicky Macqueen names Tigers squad to face Exeter Chiefs

  • +1

Vicky Macqueen has named the matchday squad for Saturday’s maiden Allianz Premiership Women’s Rugby game, at home against Exeter Chiefs.

Natasha Jones will captain the side, with Roisin McBrien named as vice-captain.

Eight players are set to make their Leicester Tigers debuts, while Becky Noon and Amy Relf are set to make their 20th competitive appearance for the club this weekend.

The front-row is retained from the side’s final Allianz Cup fixture, while the second-row sees Scottish International Eva Donaldson set to make her Tigers debut and partnering Becky Noon, who moves into the tight five from the back of the scrum.

Vice-captain McBrien once again partners with Morgan Richardson on the flanks, while there’s another debut with USA international Tahlia Brody starting at No. 8.

In the backs, Lucy Nye returns at scrum-half having been vice-captain for the Armed Forces last week, the nine reunited with Natasha Jones, the fly-half leading out the side.

The centre pairing sees Allianz Cup stalwart Rebecca de Filippo partner up with the third debutant, England international and Team GB 7s co-captain Meg Jones, who starts at outside centre.
The back-three sees one change, with fourth debutant Francesca McGhie returning from WXV duty for Scotland to start on the wing.

Finally, on the bench, Elis Martin, Leah Bartlett, Keia Mae Sagapolu Sanele and Tess Feury are also all set for their first appearances for Tigers. If all come off the bench, it will mark 21 debuts that the club have seen thus far in the 2023/24 season.

15 Amanda Swartz [3]
14 Caz Collie [4]
13 Meg Jones *
12 Rebecca DeFilippo [3]
11 Francesca McGhie *
10 Natasha Jones (c) [20]
9 Lucy Nye [10]
1 Jade Jones [14]
2 Alana Bainbridge [4]
3 Ofure Ugiagbe [22]
4 Eva Donaldson *
5 Becky Noon [19]
6 Morgan Richardson [20]
7 Roisin McBrien (vc) [21]
8 Tahlia Brody *

16 Elis Martin *
17 Leah Bartlett *
18 Keia Mae Sagapolu Sanele *
19 Charlotte Fray [7]
20 Amy Orrow [4]
21 Amy Relf [19]
22 Katie Childs [21]
23 Tess Feury *
*Denotes Leicester Tigers debut

With thanks to PWR/Leicester Tigers