Source: Johan Rynners - World Rugby/World Rugby via Getty Images

Scotland v USA – Round 2

  • +1

This is a fascinating match-up between nations ranked seventh and ninth in the world.

But within the structures of WXV2, the Eagles sit top of the pile, and they will be intent on proving their right to be there. Though they haven’t found victory easy in recent times, the aim now must be to prove their right to that position, and prepare themselves for the chance of promotion when it finally comes.

The teams have met six times before, the most recent encounter bringing an Eagles win in Edinburgh last summer.

Unlike several of his counterparts, Bryan Easson has named an unchanged side. This must be partly because they are facing the top seeds, partly because it gives the winning squad from the Samoa match a nice boost. There’s still one more game to come to allow more of the squad the chance to see some action.

The one big difference is that Lana Skeldon is a whole year older than last week. Happy birthday!

Now we find Milton Haig taking the same path as Easson, the only two changes being the sad withdrawal of Meya Bizer, whose injury prevents her from completing the series, and the introduction of Autumn Czaplicki in the 23 shirt.

These policies point to a shared view, that this match is a crucial junction in the series. Not quite ‘winner takes all’, but nearly so. Both sides topped 30 points in Round One, but know another runaway victory is less likely this weekend.


Scotland: 15 Chloe Rollie, 14 Rhona Lloyd, 13 Emma Orr, 12 Lisa Thomson, 11 Francesca McGhie, 10 Helen Nelson, 9 Mairi McDonald, 1 Leah Bartlett, 2 Lana Skeldon, 3 Christine Belisle, 4 Emma Wassell, 5 Louise McMillan, 6 Rachel Malcolm (captain), 7 Rachel McLachlan, 8 Evie Gallagher

Bench: 16 Elis Martin, 17 Anne Young, 18 Lisa Cockburn, 19 Eva Donaldson, 20 Jade Konkel, 21 Caity Mattinson, 22 Meryl Smith, 23 Liz Musgrove


1 Catie Benson, 2 Kathryn Treder, 3 Charli Jacoby, 4 Hallie Taufoou 5 Erica Jarrell, 6 Freda Tafuna 7 Tahlia Brody 8 Rachel Johnson, 9 Carly Waters, 10 Gabby Cantorna, 11 Lotte Clapp, 12 Mata Hingano, 13 Kate Zackary (captain), 14 Tess Feury 15 Bulou Mataitoga

Bench: 16 Paige Stathopoulos, 17 Monalisa Tupou, 18 Keie Mae Sagapolu, 19 Jenny Kronish, 20 Rachel Ehrecke, 21 Taina Tukuafu, 22 Katana Howard, 23 Autumn Czaplicki

Match details:

Friday 20 October, Athlone Sports Stadium, Cape Town; KO 14.00 (local time), 13.00 (BST)