Source: INPHO

Scotland announce 30 names to play in WXV2 in Cape Town

  • +1

Bryan Easson has selected 30 players to represent Scotland in South Africa for the new WXV tournament. (full list below)

Before they fly out they will meet Spain in one of the five test matches taking place on 30 September. Venue: The Hive (the former DAM Health Stadium) in Edinburgh. That will give the management the opportunity to fine-tune the squad.

This campaign offers an exciting prospect for the Scots, to show how far they have developed with their new contracts and training centre in place. They have three highly contrasting opponents to face, which is precisely the object of the exercise.

The almost inevitable injury absences give the staff the chance to measure the quality and depth of the player-pool. It helps that two experienced members of the GB Sevens squad, Lisa Thomson and Rhona Lloyd, make the trip.

New Faces

Three uncapped players make a modest but sensible refreshing of the forces on offer. They include Fi McIntosh, now a familiar figure with Saracens, whose father, a true Scot, will be well pleased with the news.

Demi Swann arrives in the squad via Ottawa and Toronto. Holly McIntyre is the one player to be added from the pathway programme; she is co-captain for the University of Edinburgh team. She and Emma Orr are the only two to play for Scottish clubs.

The Squad


Leah Bartlett (Leicester Tigers), Christine Belisle (Loughborough Lightning), Sarah Bonar (Harlequins), Elliann Clarke (Bristol Bears), Lisa Cockburn (University of Worcester Warriors),
Eva Donaldson (Leicester Tigers), Evie Gallagher (University of Worcester Warriors), Jade Konkel (Harlequins), Rachel Malcolm (captain, Loughborough Lightning), Elis Martin (Leicester Tigers),
*Fiona McIntosh (Saracens), Rachel McLachlan (Sale Sharks), Louise McMillan (Saracens), Lana Skeldon (University of Worcester Warriors), *Demi Swann (University of Worcester Warriors), Emma Wassell (Loughborough Lightning), Anne Young (Sale Sharks)


Beth Blacklock (Saracens), Coreen Grant (Saracens), Caity Mattinson (University of Worcester Warriors), Mairi McDonald (Exeter Chiefs), Francesca McGhie (Leicester Tigers), *Holly McIntyre (University of Edinburgh), Rhona Lloyd (GB 7s/Stade Bordelais), Liz Musgrove (Ealing Trailfinders), Helen Nelson (Loughborough Lightning), Emma Orr (Heriots/Biggar), Lisa Thomson (GB 7s), Chloe Rollie (Loughborough Lightning), Meryl Smith (Bristol Bears)

Four players couldn’t be considered owing to injury: Evie Wills, Jenny Maxwell, Molly Wright and Shona Campbell

Scotland’s Fixtures

Friday 13 October v South Africa, Danie Craven Stadium, Stellenbosch
Friday 20 October v USA, Athlone Stadium, Cape Town
Friday 27 October v Japan, Athlone Stadium, Cape Town