Australia announces World Championship Golf Croquet Squad

  • +1

The Australian Croquet Association has announced their Golf Croquet players selected to play in the GC World Team Championship, known as The Openshaw Shield

Included in the selection is the latest Women’s World Champion Jamie Gumbrell, who competed along with 55 other players from around the world, at the GC Women’s World Championship held here in England, at the Sussex Country Croquet Club during August 2023.

Chris Clarke, Chair of Openshaw Shield Selection Committee for the Croquet Association in England has responded to the announcement “It’s good to see Australia with a potentially very strong team, with a mixture of playing styles within their squad. We’ll be selecting our team after the GC World Championships in 2024, and will be announcing our squad after the England-Egypt match in October 2023. We do not have a captain for the Openshaw as yet.”

The current holders of the Championship, last played in 2020, are New Zealand, who will be defending their title in the eight team tournament in Launceston, Tasmania, in February 2025.  The countries being represented in the 2025 team Championship are New Zealand, Egypt, England, USA, Australia, South Africa, Ireland and Spain.

Australia’s final team will be selected from the following squad of nine:

Greg Fletcher – Victoria
Malcolm Fletcher – Victoria
Robert Fletcher – Victoria
Jamie Gumbrell – { ACT } New South Wales
Pete Landrebe – New South Wales
Brett McHardy – Western Australia
Chris McWhirter – Western Australia
Gary Phipps – Western Australia
Ed Wilson – South Australia

England’s 2020 Team Captain, John-Paul Moberly congratulates the players selected for the Australian Squad, and adds “I look forward to England’s best players competing against those of Australia and around the world in 2025”.

With thanks to Croquet England