South Africa’s New Leagues Unveiled

  • +1

The CEO of South African Rugby, Jurie Roux, has announced details of new structures for the top two women’s leagues.

The Women’s Premier Division will consist of last season’s representatives, Border Ladies (the champions), DHL Western Province, EP Queens, Boland Dames, Blue Bulls Women and Cell C Sharks. The Mastercard Golden Lions Women will join them to form an 7-team league.

This year the competition will be played between 22 April and finals day, 30 July.

The First Division will feature eight teams: Leopards, Valke, Limpopo, Pumas, Free State, Griffons, Griquas and SWD. Though the start date is fixed at 10 June, the fine details of the competition will follow later.

Roux admitted there had been much anxiety and impatience as the administrators tried to work out the likely course of the pandemic and its effects on clubs and players nationwide. Now there was excitement as another World Cup nears. He was delighted to be able to present this extended programme of league matches.

South Africa now has two players figuring in the Allianz Premier 15s in England: Zintle Mpupha (Exeter) and Catha Jacobs (Saracens)

In the World Cup the Springboks are placed in Pool C along with Fiji, France and England.