Source: Alessandro Sabattini - World Rugby via Getty Images

Officials confirmed for RWC 2021 Final Qualification Tournament

  • +1

The match officials for the Rugby World Cup 2021, playing in 2022, Final Qualification Tournament which takes place on 19 and 25 February, 2022 have today been confirmed.

Amber McLachlan (Australia), Kat Roche (USA), Shanda Assmus (Canada) and TMO Ian Tempest (England) have all been selected to officiate the Final Qualification Tournament which plays a crucial role in the selection process and wider preparation for the Rugby World Cup 2021 match officials squad.


Hosted at the Sevens Stadium in Dubai, the Final Qualification Tournament will decide which women’s 15s team takes the last remaining spot at Rugby World Cup 2021 in New Zealand which kicks off on 8 October this year.

For Roche, this tournament will see her officiate her second test match after making her debut during the Pacific Four Series last November, while Assmus was part of the Women’s High Performance Academy in Stellenbosch in 2019.

McLachlan will look to build on her previous experience of officiating during the Women’s Six Nations and Pacific Four Series, among other international fixtures, and Tempest brings a wealth of experience as TMO having been involved in the last two Women’s Six Nations tournaments.

Alhambra Nievas, World Rugby Referee Talent Development Manager, said: “We would like to congratulate Amber, Kat, Shanda and Ian for their selection to the Final Qualification Tournament for Rugby World Cup 2021.

“This is a pivotal tournament on the journey to Rugby World Cup 2021 for both players and match officials alike. As well as the upcoming Six Nations, the Final Qualification Tournament provides a great opportunity for these officials to build on their preparation for Rugby World Cup 2021 as they look to earn their selection for the pinnacle event in women’s 15s rugby.”

Scotland, Colombia and Kazakhstan will each feature in the Final Qualification Tournament next month as they contest for the final place at Rugby World Cup 2021, which takes place from 8 October to 12 November, 2021.

Match official appointments:

Kazakhstan v Colombia (The Sevens Stadium, Dubai; Saturday 19 February – 16.30)

Referee: Kat Roche
AR1: Amber McLachlan
AR2: Shanda Assmus
TMO: Ian Tempest

Scotland v Winner of Kazakhstan v Colombia (The Sevens Stadium, Dubai; Friday 25 February – 19:30)

Referee: Amber McLachlan
AR1: Kat Roche
AR2: Shanda Assmus
TMO: Ian Tempest

With thanks to World Rugby