Source: Ash Goodchild @AshSportsPhotos

A Storm’s Brewing at Twyford Avenue

  • +1

Loughborough Lightning are in Town 

After two postponed fixtures, Wasps Women are eager to get the second half of the season underway. To kick it off they will play the first of the postponed fixtures against Loughborough Lightning at Twyford Avenue.

In their last clash, Wasps led Loughborough to victory denying them of any thunder in an eventful eighty minute battle on Loughborough’s home soil. Back at Twyford avenue this weekend, Wasps will be looking to keep out the storm and set the new year rolling.

With five players away on international duties, there are some changes to Mather’s team from last weekend’s proposed squad.

The front five remains the same with Mica Evans and Maud Muir at Prop and Heather Kerr at hooker. The Irish duo of Ciara Cooney and Sam Monaghan make up the second row. Helene Caux returns to the starting line up alongside Kay Searcy on the flank with Rowena Burnfield completing the pack at eight.

Debut player Rosie Wright will start in the commander seat at ten with Lucy Nye on her inside at nine. Sammy Wong makes a move to the wing alongside Emily Stone who returns to the starting line up on the opposite side. Claire Molloy puts her speed and skills to full use in the backs and will captain the side from thirteen with Cooksey inside her at twelve. Abby Dow completes the line up making her return to the game at fullback.

Bryony Cleall is set to make her return acting as replacement prop alongside Kanyinsola Adefemiwa Afilaka. Melanie Combebias returns to the matchday squad joining Christiana Balogun to form your forward replacements. Alex Wilkinson is set to make her debut completing the squad as replacement scrum half.

The game is not due to be streamed this weekend, however updates can be followed on Twitter and Tickets will also be available on the day.

Team Line Up

15. Abby Dow
14. Emily Stone
13. Claire Molloy
12. Jess Cooksey
11. Sammy Wong
10. Rosie Wright
9. Lucy Nye
1. Mica Evans
2. Heather Kerr
3. Maud Muir
4. Ciara Cooney
5. Sam Monaghan
6. Helene Caux
7. Kay Searcy
8. Rowena Burnfield
16. Kanyinsola Adefemiwa Afilaka
17. Bryony Cleall
18. Melanie Combebias
19. Christiana Balogun
20. Alex Wilkinson