Source: Ash Goodchild @AshSportsPhotos

The Allianz Cup Hits Twyford Avenue

  • +1

This weekend, in the second round of the Allianz Cup, Wasps welcome Harlequins to Twyford Avenue.

Last week Wasps suffered a tough defeat to Bristol Bears – despite a come back in the second half, the two tries from Boatman and Williams weren’t enough to top Bears’ 33 points.

Wasps are yet to face Harlequins this season and with both teams without their Internationals, and the slate wiped clean after last year’s semi final clash – it is all to play for on the field.

Head coach for this week’s fixture, Ollie Bishop, has named his squad. This week’s starting line up see’s seven changes. We also see the return of Helena Ironton to the match day squad.

In the front row, Kerr will lead as Captain at hooker with Crake and Evans, who makes her first start of the season, either side of her. Balogun returns to the starting line up alongside Cooney to form your second row with Caux and Burnfield behind them on the flank. To complete the pack, Lydia Kerr will start at eight.

Wong will start at scrum half with Dodd outside her at ten. Williams will act as vice captain on the wing alongside Emily Stone. Rowland moves out to the centres at twelve with Wilson Hardy outside her at 13. And, to complete the starting line up, Boatman will start at fullback.

Ironton heads up the bench alongside Willmore, Afilaka, Searcy and Farrow as forwards replacements. And, to complete the match day squad, Nye and Brown will add fire from the back.

Entry is FREE to this week’s fixture which will kick off at 13:30pm at Twyford Avenue.

Team Line Up

  1. Heather Kerr – Captain (sponsored by Vibe teacher recruitment)
  2. Mica Evans
  3. Ciara Cooney
  4. Christiana Balogun
  5. Helene Caux
  6. Lydia Kerr (sponsored by Vibe teacher recruitment)
  7. Sammy Wong
  8. Louise Dodd
  9. Carys Williams – Vice Captain (sponsored by Landscape Design Architecture)
  10. Gemma Rowland
  11. Amy Wilson Hardy
  12. Emily Stone
  13. Ellie Boatman (Sponsored by Budgy Smuggler)
  14. Helena Ironton
  15. Daniker Willmore
  16. Kanyinsola Adefemiwa-Afilaka
  17. Stevie Farrow
  18. Kay Searcy
  19. Lucy Nye
  20. Rose Brown

With thanks to Wasps