Source: P Yates / World Rugby

Fast Four moves on to Edmonton

  • +1

Great Britain women will be aiming to repeat their HSBC Canada Sevens triumphs achieved in Vancouver last weekend, but will face stiff competition over two days of intense action as a Series event is contested for the first time at Commonwealth Stadium on 25-26 September.

There is a strong line-up for the women’s Fast Four tournament with Canada, Great Britain, the USA and Mexico participating.

Great Britain beat the USA 34-12 is last weekend’s final and co-captain Megan Jones said: “It was really good to get back out there last weekend. We came off the Olympics with fourth place so a lot of us just wanted to get out there and get the love of sevens back and we definitely achieved that in addition to the new players on board with us. The same principles apply this weekend, it’s all about the smiles and the enjoyment as well as the winning. Canada and USA are both physical, dominant opponents who have depth in their squads, so we’re really looking forward to matching up with them again this weekend.”

The women’s fast four competition format sees all teams play each other before semi-finals are followed by the third place match and gold medal final.

The women will get the action under way when Canada face the USA at 09:00 local time (GMT-6) on Saturday 25 September.

The HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series 2021 title will be awarded on Sunday as the shortened Series concludes following the pair of events hosted in Canada.

Given the unique circumstances due to the global pandemic, there will be no relegation from the 2021 Series and the results will not contribute towards seedings for any other future events.

Rugby sevens players and fans can look forward to a very busy and exciting year ahead. The 2022 Series will kick off in Dubai on 26-27 November, 2021, with the full schedule to be announced soon. The Series will be followed by the Commonwealth Games in Birmingham, England, on 29-31 July 2022 and Rugby World Cup Sevens in Cape Town, South Africa, on 9-11 September 2022.

Match Schedule

Saturday 25 September 2021
Sunday 26 September 2021


Courtesy of World Rugby