ICC Women’s Player of the Month nominees – August 2021

  • +1

ICC Women’s Player of the Month for August: 

Nattaya Boochatham (Thailand)
Vital contributions with both ball and bat in the series against Zimbabwe last month helped Thailand’s Nattaya Boochatham achieve a career-best position across the MRF Tyres ICC Women’s T20I Player rankings for batters, bowlers, and all-rounders last month. Boochatham played a starring role in Thailand’s 2-1 triumph over Zimbabwe, winning the Player of the Match award in both their wins.

Gaby Lewis (Ireland)
Gaby Lewis became the first Irish woman to score a century in T20I cricket as Ireland registered a 164-run win over Germany in the opening game of the Europe Qualifiers of the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup supported by Dream 11. Lewis struck 11 fours and three sixes in a remarkable 60-ball unbeaten innings of 105. 

Eimear Richardson (Ireland)
Eimear Richardson was the Player of the Tournament in Europe Qualifiers of the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup for her contributions with bat and ball. In the four T20Is she played against Germany, Scotland, France and Netherlands, Richardson took 7 wickets at an economy rate of 4.19 and scored a total of 76 runs. 

The voting process: 

The three nominees for either category is shortlisted based on performances from the first to the last day of each calendar month. The shortlist is then voted on by the independent ICC Voting Academy* and fans around the world. The ICC Voting Academy comprises prominent members of the cricket fraternity including well-known journalists, former players, broadcasters, and members of the ICC Hall of Fame. The Voting Academy submit their votes by email and hold a 90 per cent share of the vote. Fans registered with the ICC vote via the ICC website, accounting for the remaining 10 per cent. Winners are announced every second Monday of the month on the ICC’s digital channels.

ICC Voting Academy for ICC Player of the Month August 2021*:

Afghanistan: Hameed Qayoomi and Javed Hamim; Australia: Melinda Farrell and Lisa Sthalekar; Bangladesh: Tarek Mahmoud and Mohammad Isam’ England: Elizabeth Ammon and Claire Taylor; Ireland: Ian Callender and Isobel Joyce; India: Rica Roy and Irfan Pathan New Zealand: Mark Geenty and John Wright; Pakistan: Faizan Lakhani and Ramiz Raja; South Africa: Firdose Moonda and Makhaya Ntini; Sri Lanka: Neville Victor Anthony and Russel Arnold; West Indies: Desmond Haynes and Merissa Aguilleira; Zimbabwe: Tristan Holme and Mpumelelo Mbangwa; Others: Paul Radley and Dirk Nannes.

Courtesy of the ICC