The Women’s London Championship grows larger

  • +1

The Women’s London Championship (WLC) takes on an extended form in its second season, Sussex joining Essex, Kent, Middlesex and Surrey.

The counties will play each other once in 50-over format. The schedule lasts from May to July, Essex starting the show with a home fixture against Kent on 1 May. Surrey are the reigning champions.

This tournament is an important addition to the schedule. After the introduction of the eight regional hubs last year, it was crucial to establish the WLC to provide more experience and competition for young talented cricketers.

Fixtures (with venues where known):

May 1 Essex v Kent
May 22 Essex v Middlesex
June 1 Kent v Sussex
June 3 Kent v Middlesex Nevill Ground, Tunbridge Wells
June 3 Sussex v Surrey
June 5 Surrey v Middlesex Kia Oval
June 20 Surrey v Kent Chipstead CC
July 12 Essex v Surrey
July 17 Sussex v Essex Blackstone Academy
July 22 Middlesex v Sussex Crouch End CC

Starting times are likely to be 11.00, but check with the home county for confirmation. Under present conditions spectators are not permitted, but regulations may possibly change.

Leave a Reply

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked *