Source: Mike Lee - KLC fotos for World Rugby

Exciting talent named for Red Bull Ignite7

  • +1

The country’s leading female sevens exponents have been selected for the upcoming Red Bull Ignite7.

The 52 players will spend the next month preparing and will be drafted into teams on 30 November, before the tournament is played at Blake Park in Tauranga on 5-6 December.

Black Ferns Sevens coaches Allan Bunting and Cory Sweeney have selected all of their contracted players along with several stars of the Farah Palmer Cup and emerging sevens talent.

Sweeney said this was a unique opportunity to get the best sevens players from across New Zealand for an exciting tournament.

“We believe with the players who have been selected that this tournament has the potential to be World Class.

“Many of these players were involved in the Farah Palmer Cup which was a great competition this year. We look forward to them stepping things up a notch as they turn their focus to sevens and ultimately the preparation for next year’s Olympics.

“It’s quite unique that the pressure now turns to the captains who will have the difficult task of picking their teams at the draft,” said Sweeney.

All former Red Bull Ignite7 MVPs return for 2020, with Isla Norman Bell, Kalyn Takitimu-Cook, Mererangi Paul, Renee Holmes and Grace Kukatai selected.

Seven 2018 Youth Olympic Gold medallists will be amongst those in the draft with Takitimu-Cook, Risi Pouri-Lane, Mahina Paul, Tynelle Fitzgerald, Tiana Davison and Montessa Tairakena in the selected group.

2019 Condor Sevens MVP Jorja Miller steps up, after leading for Christchurch Girls’ High School to a national title last year she is one of four school-girls that will join the programme as apprentices for the week.

The Red Bull Ignite7 players for 2020 are:

Mia Anderson Waikato Isla Norman-Bell Auckland
Shakira Baker Waikato Manaia Nuku Waikato
Michala Blyde Bay of Plenty Mahina Paul Bay of Plenty
Kelly Brazier Bay of Plenty Mererangi Paul Bay of Plenty
Gayle Broughton Taranaki Risi Pouri-Lane Bay of Plenty
Sam Curtis Canterbury Cheyelle Robins-Reti Waikato
Georgia Daals Wellington Leanna Ryan Waikato
Tiana Davison Taranaki Layla Sae Manawatu
Princess Elliott Auckland Alena Saili Bay of Plenty
Dhys Faleafaga Wellington Teuila Sotutu Auckland
Lyric Faleafaga Wellington Kiki Tahere Bay of Plenty
Rhiarna Ferris Manawatu Montessa Tairakena Waikato
Tynelle Fitzgerald Bay of Plenty Kalyn Takitimu-Cook Manawatu
Theresa Fitzpatrick Auckland Ruby Tawa Bay of Plenty
Stacey Fluhler Waikato Terina Te Tamaki Waikato
Sarah Hirini Manawatu Kelsey Teneti Waikato
Renee Holmes Waikato Shyanne Thompson Counties Manukau
Jazmin Hotham Waikato Alanis Toia-Tigafua North Harbour
Tysha Ikenasio Auckland Hazel Tubic Counties Manukau
Maia Joseph Otago Rebekah Tufuga Manawatu
Shiray Kaka Waikato Leianne Tufuga Auckland
Rosie Kelly Otago Ruby Tui Counties Manukau
Grace Kukutai Auckland Janna Vaughn Manawatu
Crystal Mayes Manawatu Olive Watherston Otago
Jorja Miller Canterbury Tenika Willison Waikato
Tyla Nathan-Wong Northland Portia Woodman Northland


Pictured above Tyla Nathan-Wong