Source: London Bees

The FA Women’s Championship Award winners

  • +1

The 2019/20 FA Women’s Championship End of Season Awards see Aston Villa and Sheffield United claim two trophies apiece

Today The Football Association has announced the winners of the 2019/20 FA Women’s Championship End of Season Awards, with champions Aston Villa and runners-up Sheffield United claiming the four trophies on offer.

Blades striker Katie Wilkinson claimed an impressive double after being voted the league’s Player of the Season following her 15 league goals in 14 matches during the campaign, which was also enough to see her finish top scorer and claim the FA Women’s Championship Golden Boot.

Aston Villa head coach Gemma Davies, who led her unbeaten side to the Championship title and promotion to the Barclays FA Women’s Super League, was announced as Manager of the Season by the League Managers’ Association (LMA) as she prepares to lead the club into its first season in top flight professional football.

One area key to Villa’s success was their ability to keep things tight in defence and a confident shot stopper behind them. Thanks to her five clean sheets in 13 appearances, keeper Sian Rogers was awarded the FA Women’s Championship Golden Glove.

The 2020/21 FA Women’s Championship season is due to commence on the weekend of September 5-6, with fixtures to be announced in due course.

The FA Women’s Championship Award winners

Player of the Season – Katie Wilkinson (Sheffield United)
Manager of the Season – Gemma Davies (Aston Villa)
Golden Boot – Katie Wilkinson (Sheffield United)
Golden Glove – Sian Rogers (Aston Villa)

Lead photo shows Katie Wilkinson when she played for London Bees

Leave a Reply

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked *