Source: Travis Prior for World Rugby

England Women Sevens squad named for Dubai

  • +1

England Women Sevens head coach Charlie Hayter has named his squad for the HSBC World Rugby Women’s Sevens Series in Dubai [5-7 December 2019, live on Sky Sports Arena].

England face France, holders New Zealand and Japan in Pool C on the 50th anniversary of the Dubai 7s.

Abbie Brown captains the side which includes two changes to the group that finished ninth in Glendale in October’s series opener.

Beth Wilcock returns while Wasps FC Ladies’ Katie Mason, who featured at the Biarritz Sevens last season, is also included.

Hayter said: “We’re really looking forward to competing in Dubai in their 50th anniversary year.

“Playing at the Sevens Stadium is always a fantastic experience.

“It’s also the first combined men’s and women’s event of the season which is exciting for the whole sevens programme.

“We’ve had a good block of training after Glendale with further rugby focus.

“We’re really pleased to have Katie Mason with us and would like to thank Wasps and Lions Sports Academy for releasing her.”

Meanwhile, Sydney Gregson, Ellie Kildunne and Holly Aitchison have remained in England to continue their injury rehab programmes.


Abbie Brown (C)
Abi Burton
Heather Fisher
Deborah Fleming
Megan Jones
Alex Matthews
Katie Mason (Wasps FC Ladies/Lions Sports Academy)
Jodie Ounsley
Celia Quansah
Helena Rowland
Emma Uren
Beth Wilcock
Amy Wilson Hardy


Thursday 5 December
v France Women 7s [Pool C – 16.20pm local time/12.20pm GMT]

Friday 6 December
v New Zealand Women 7s v England Women 7s [Pool C – 10.50am local time/6.50am GMT]
v Japan Women 7s [Pool C – 15.40pm local time/11.40am GMT]

All matches will be shown live on Sky Sports Arena.

Courtesy of the RFU