Source: ©INPHO/Ryan Byrne

Simon Middleton names squad for historic Barbarians match

  • +1

England Women’s head coach Simon Middleton has named his wider squad to begin preparations ahead of the Red Roses’ historic first match against Barbarians on Sunday at Twickenham Stadium (kick off 12:45pm, live on Sky Sports).

The 28-player squad will assemble today at Bisham Abbey and will provide the squad an opportunity to also prepare ahead of the Women’s Rugby Super Series in San Diego at the end of June. The Red Roses are looking to build on this season’s Women’s Six Nations Grand Slam success.

While not available for the Barbarians match Cath O’Donnell (Loughborough Lightning) and Marlie Packer (Saracens Women) will attend the training camp. Alongside Sarah Beckett (Firwood Waterloo Ladies), Vicky Fleetwood (Saracens Women) and Emily Scarratt (Loughborough Lightning), they are all expected to be fit for the series in San Diego next month.

Jess Breach (Harlequins Ladies), Rachael Burford (Harlequins Ladies) and Katy Daley-Mclean (Loughborough Lightning) won’t be available due to injury for the Red Roses’ upcoming campaign in USA. Breach is due to undergo shoulder surgery.

The fixture on Sunday will form part of a historic double header with the men’s match for the Quilter Cup which kicks off at 3:30pm. Tickets for the Barbarians double header are available from £20 for adults and £10 for juniors. For more information and to book tickets, visit

England Women

Zoe Aldcroft (Gloucester-Hartpury Women’s RFC)
Sarah Bern (Bristol Bears Women)
Hannah Botterman (Saracens Women)
Jo Brown (Loughborough Lightning)
Rowena Burnfield (Richmond FC)
Poppy Cleall (Saracens Women)
Vickii Cornborough (Harlequins Ladies)
Lark Davies (Worcester Valkyries)
Chloe Edwards (Harlequins Ladies)
Rosie Galligan (Saracens Women)
Sarah Hunter (Loughborough Lightning)
Clara Nielson (Bristol Bears Women)
Ellena Perry (Saracens Women)
Abbie Scott (Harlequins Ladies)

Zoe Harrison (Saracens Women)
Tatyana Heard (Gloucester-Hartpury Women’s RFC)
Natasha Hunt (Gloucester-Hartpury Women’s RFC)
Claudia Macdonald (Wasps FC Ladies)
Sarah McKenna (Saracens Women)
Amber Reed (Bristol Bears Women)
Leanne Riley (Harlequins Ladies)
Emily Scott (Harlequins Ladies)
Kelly Smith (Gloucester-Hartpury Women’s RFC)
Lydia Thompson (Worcester Valkyries)
Lagi Tuima (Bristol Bears Women)
Carys Williams (Loughborough Lightning)

In camp not considered for selection due to injury
Cath O’Donnell (Loughborough Lightning)
Marlie Packer (Saracens Women)

Not available for selection due to injury
Sarah Beckett (Firwood Waterloo Ladies)
Rachael Burford (Harlequins Ladies)
Shaunagh Brown (Harlequins Ladies)
Bryony Cleall (Saracens Women)
Katy Daley- Mclean (Loughborough Lightning)
Vicky Fleetwood (Saracens Women)
Emily Scarratt (Loughborough Lightning)
Jess Breach (Harlequins Ladies)

Courtesy of the RFU