Source: World Rugby

Get set for rugby sevens at the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games

  • +1

Following the announcement of the detailed competition schedule for the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games, rugby fans around the globe can now start to plan their own Olympic journeys with the launch of the Tokyo 2020 official ticket website by the organising committee.

There are separate processes for Japanese residents and overseas fans. Residents of Japan can apply for tickets via a lottery system from 9-28 May, 2019, while people living outside of Japan can purchase tickets through their countries’ Authorised Ticket Reseller from 15 June, 2019.

Should they not be successful in the initial ticket lottery, residents of Japan will be able to request tickets during the first-come, first-served phase, which will commence in autumn 2019. A further phase of ticket sales will start in the spring of 2020, offering first-come, first-served sales on a global basis.

In order to plan their Olympic experience, fans are encouraged to visit the Tokyo 2020 Official Ticket Website, which is published in Japanese and English. It contains the latest information on the event line-up, details of the different categories of tickets, their prices and seat maps, as well as ticket sales guidelines.

View Tokyo 2020 official ticket website.

View list of international Authorised Ticket Resellers.

The rugby sevens competition will take place at the iconic Tokyo Stadium, a Rugby World Cup 2019 host venue, from 27 July-1 August.

In a reverse to the Rio 2016 schedule, the men’s competition will be played first over three days from 27-29 July with the women’s competition taking place from 30 July-1 August and culminating with the gold medal session on ‘Super Saturday’.

There will be two sessions on each competition day. The morning session will kick-off at 09:00 JST and run until 12:00 JST and the evening session will begin at 16:30 and finish at 19:00. The medal matches will take place in the evening sessions.

View the full schedule here.

Rugby sevens was a highlight of a spectacular Rio 2016 Olympic Games on debut, with Australia’s women and Fiji’s men winning gold medals – the first Olympic rugby medals since 1924.

The announcement of the ticketing information comes as the race to secure a place at Tokyo 2020 continues through the highly-competitive men’s and women’s HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series, with the top four nations from each competition set to qualify directly.

View the global qualification process here >>

With Japan awarded automatic qualification as host nation in both men’s and women’s competitions, the remaining seven places for each competition will be determined via a global process of regional qualifiers and repechage events.

Courtesy of World Rugby