Wasps look to cement their place in Tyrell’s top four

  • +1

Wasps return to Premier 15s action with a short trip to historic rivals Richmond. They will be looking to cement their place in the top four with just five games remaining till the play-offs begin.

This fixture will be the return leg from Wasps double header with the men’s professional side at the Ricoh Arena earlier this year. Those in black and gold will be hoping for a similar result as they ran out 31-15 victors in front of a record crowd for a Wasps FC Ladies match.

Wasps have made three changes to the starting line-up that hosted Saracens before Christmas. In the front row, Wasps welcome back experienced campaigner Rocky Clark, who links up with Hannah West and Amy Cokayne who was one of three Wasps named in the England Women’s squad last week.

There is one change in the backrow as Megan Horwood (Sponsored by Newbury Self Store) slots in at flanker for her fifth start in the first time this season.

The final changes come in the backline as Kendall Templeman returns to the side at outside centre, with club captain Kate Alder (Sponsored by PSB Industries) moving to inside centre.

Wasps currently lie in fourth spot in the Premier 15s table just one point ahead of chasing Gloucester-Hartpury who travel to Worcester Valkyries this weekend. Wasps will want to ensure they put in a strong performance to keep hold of their play-off spot and keep the pressure on the top three sides.

The hosts find themselves in seventh position in the table with five wins from their thirteen fixtures. They come into the game off a 29-10 victory over Darlington Mowden Park Sharks before Christmas and will be hoping to upset their rivals playoff hopes with a win at the Athletic Ground.

  1. N Waterman   14. K Mason   13. K Templeman   12. K Alder   11. T Derk   10. L Goulden   9. C Macdonald   8. N Smith   7. M Horwood   6. S Mitchelson   5. N Baltruweit   4. A Sheffield   3. H West   2. A Cokayne   1. R Clark
  2. K Adefemiwa-afilaka   17. C Purdy   18. K Allen   19. M Muir   20. I Fisher   21. F Williams   22. G Mackinder

Courtesy of Wasps