BT Sport celebrates outstanding achievement in Women’s Sport

BT Sport has announced the nominees for its annual Action Woman of the Year Award in association with The Telegraph. The award, now in its sixth year, celebrates the ten most exceptional sporting performances by British female athletes throughout 2018.

This year has been another outstanding year for women’s sporting achievements across the board: including England Netball’s historical win over Australia that saw them bring home the gold medal at the Commonwealth Games; to the FA Women’s Super League launching a new full-time, fully professional structure; and Great Britain running to victory in the women’s 4x100m relay final in the European Championships in Berlin. A shortlist of top nominees based on each of the athletes sporting achievements in 2018 has been selected by a panel of judges which includes broadcaster Clare Balding OBE, Olympic hockey gold medalist Sam Quek MBE and Sports Editor of The Telegraph, Adam Sills.

BT Sport also recognises team and lifetime contributions to women’s sport and will present two awards that further celebrate women’s sport. Both ‘Team of the Year’ and ‘Lifetime Achievement Award’ will be presented on the night

The winner of the BT Sport Action Woman of the Year Award will once again be decided by a public vote via the website.

BT Sport Action Woman of the Year nominees:

Dina Asher-Smith – Sprinter

A sensational year saw Dina win gold in the 100m, 200m and the 4x100m at the European Championships and gold (4x100m) and bronze (200m) at the Commonwealth Games.  She ended the season as the joint fastest woman in the world in the 100m and the fastest woman in the world in the 200m.

Lizzy Yarnold – Skeleton racing

Britain’s most decorated winter Olympian announced her retirement in October after successfully retaining her gold medal in Pyeongchang in February.

Fran Kirby – Football

Was named PFA and FWA Women’s Player of the Year, plus has been nominated for the inaugural women’s Ballon d’Or after stunning a 2017-18 campaign, which saw Chelsea FC Women win the WSL and FA Cup double.

 Georgia Hall – Golf

The 22-year-old became the first English winner of the Women’s British Open in 14 years at Royal Lytham & St Annes, finishing two shots ahead of the pack at 17 under par.

Vicky Holland – Triathlon

Crowned triathlon world champion for the first time, after a fantastic second place finish in the Grand Final on Australia’s Gold Coast.

Laura Kenny – Cycling

Returned to competition after giving birth to her son, winning double gold at the European Championships in Glasgow and double gold at the recent World Cup event in Canada.

Menna Fitzpatrick MBE & Captain Jen Kehoe MBE – Visually impaired Alpine Skiing

Britain’s most successful Winter Paralympians won four medals at the winter Paralympics – including gold in the visually-impaired slalom.

Lucy Bronze – Football

Nominated for the Women’s Ballon d’Or after winning the Champions League with French side Lyon, and helping them secure a twelfth straight league title.



The Team of the Year nominees include:

  • England Netball
  • Chelsea F.C. Women
  • GB Athletics 4 x 100 relay

The winners will be announced at the BT Sport Action Woman of the Year Awards show, presented by Clare Balding and broadcast live on BT Sport 2 and online, from 7.30pm on Monday 3rd December 2018. Simon Green, Head of BT Sport, said: “Women’s sport has been unstoppable this year with incredible achievements across the board. These strong and successful sportswomen are inspiring the next generation of athletes and we are delighted to be able to recognise and celebrate all they have achieved in 2018. We want everyone to get behind their favourite inspirational sportswoman of 2018 and show their appreciation by voting.”

To vote for your BT Sport Action Woman of the Year visit

Courtesy of BT Sport via Pitch