Source: World Rugby

Record hosting interest for Women’s Rugby World Cup 2021

  • +1

Women’s Rugby World Cup 2021 has attracted a record level of hosting interest after six unions formally confirmed an expression of interest to World Rugby by the 31 May deadline.

Australia, England, France, New Zealand, Portugal and Wales all confirmed their intention to tender having reviewed World Rugby’s bid guide issued last month.

The record level of hosting interest highlights the strength of the Women’s Rugby World Cup brand after a very special and record-breaking Ireland 2017 tournament and excitement surrounding a new tournament format.

Women’s Rugby World Cup 2017 was the best-attended, most-viewed and most socially-engaged ever, setting new standards for the tournament and extending the reach of the game around the world.

Read about the format changes here.

The 2017 edition clocked up a total of 45 million video views, and a total reach of more than 70 million throughout the five match days. More than 750,000 fans from 230 countries and territories also visited the official website, attracting 58 per cent of new fans, setting new records for engagement of the multi-language content for a Women’s Rugby World Cup.

World Rugby Chairman Bill Beaumont said: “We are delighted with the record level of Women’s Rugby World Cup 2021 hosting interest from unions, which reflects the significant global excitement and momentum behind the women’s game.

“Ireland 2017 was a magnificent tournament by any Rugby World Cup standards, and I am sure that all six unions will be determined to raise the bar again as we look forward to a tournament that features a new format and is a proven sporting and social legacy driver.”

The six unions are being issued with the bid documents and now have until 10 August 2018 to submit their bid responses.

The World Rugby Council will select the Rugby World Cup 2021 host at its interim meeting in Dublin on 14 November 2018.

Women’s Rugby World Cup 2021 host selection process timelines:
10 August 2018: Bid responses submitted by unions to World Rugby
14 November 2018: World Rugby Council selects Women’s Rugby World Cup 2021 host

Report courtesy of World Rugby