Source: England Rugby

England Captain Sarah Hunter set for 100th cap

  • +1

England Women head coach Simon Middleton makes eight changes, two positional, in his starting 15 ahead of the Red Roses’ second Test against Canada at Twickenham Stoop (KO 19:45, live Sky Sports Main Event, Sky Sports Action & Sky Sports Mix).

Captain Sarah Hunter is set to earn her 100th international cap for England, starting at No.8 on Tuesday. Awarded World Rugby Player of the year in 2016, Hunter first made her debut for England in 2007 and since has scored 19 tries for the Red Roses.

Three uncapped players have also been included in the squad with forwards Catherine O’Donnell (Loughborough Lightning) and Jo Brown (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks) named in the starting line-up and back, Lagi Tuima (Bristol Ladies) set to come off the bench.

In the backline, Ellie Kildunne (Gloucester-Hartpury) earns her first start for England at full-back, alongside wingers, Jess Breach (Harlequins Ladies), who scored six tries on her debut last Friday and Charlotte Clapp (Saracens Women), who last featured for England in 2016 against USA.

Leanne Riley (Harlequins Ladies) and Katy Daley-Mclean (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks) again start at nine and ten alongside centres Amber Reed (Bristol Ladies) and Rachael Burford (Harlequins Ladies).

In the scrum Rochelle Clark (Wasps FC Ladies) and Amy Cokayne (Wasps FC Ladies) – who both scored tries in the opening Test – start alongside Heather Kerr (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks).

Tamara Taylor (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks) makes her first start of the series and is joined by Catherine O’Donnell (Loughborough Lightning), who will earn her first cap for England in the second row.

Marlie Packer (Saracens Women), Jo Brown (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks) and captain Sarah Hunter (Loughborough Lightning) make up the back row.

World Cup finalists Abbie Scott (Harlequins Ladies), Vickii Cornborough (Harlequins Ladies) and Izzy Noel-Smith, who is set to make her first appearance of the series are named as finishers. Lark Davies (Worcester Valkyries) and newly capped players Hannah Botterman (Saracens Women), Zoe Harrison (Saracens Women) and Caity Mattinson (Bristol Ladies) are also named on the bench alongside Lagi Tuima (Bristol Ladies) who is set to make her international debut.

Simon Middleton said “What we are looking for in tomorrow’s game is consistency of performance. We haven’t made wholesale changes as we want to maintain core stability and that’s been the approach with this particular side. We have mixed the forwards a bit more and the backs remain stable, with that we know we will create opportunities to get the younger players on the ball again and give them a chance to shine.

“We said from the outset that we would select a squad that we feel can deliver a winning performance and we are confident this team, can deliver on that.”

Middleton added: “Sarah Hunter is an incredible player and the ultimate professional. She has the highest standards in everything that she does, both on and off the pitch. A true leader, ultra-composed and rational but at the same time has real steel in her, she manages the team brilliantly.

“To achieve 100 caps in a career is truly special, Sarah should be immensely proud.”

England Women match-day 23, Old Mutual Wealth Series 2017
*denotes uncapped player

15. Ellie Kildunne (Gloucester-Hartpury Women’s RFC, 1 cap)
14. Jess Breach (Harlequins Ladies, 1 cap)
13. Rachael Burford (Harlequins Ladies, 73 caps)
12. Amber Reed (Bristol Ladies, 45 caps)
11. Charlotte Clapp (Saracens Women, 10 caps)
10. Katy Daley-Mclean (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks, 92 caps)
9. Leanne Riley (Harlequins Ladies, 14 caps)

1. Rochelle Clark (Wasps FC Ladies, 130 caps)
2. Amy Cokayne (Wasps FC Ladies, 34 caps)
3. Heather Kerr (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks, 11 caps)
4. Catherine O’Donnell* (Loughborough Lightning, uncapped)
5. Tamara Taylor (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks, 110 caps)
6. Jo Brown* (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks, uncapped)
7. Marlie Packer (Saracens Women, 52 caps)
8. Sarah Hunter © (Loughborough Lightning, 99 caps)

16. Lark Davies (Worcester Valkyries, 4 caps)
17. Vickii Cornborough (Harlequins Ladies, 32 caps)
18. Hannah Botterman (Saracens Women, 1 cap)
19. Abbie Scott (Harlequins Ladies, 22 caps)
20. Izzy Noel-Smith (Bristol Ladies, 36 caps)
21. Caity Mattinson (Bristol Ladies, 1 cap)
22. Zoe Harrison (Saracens Women, 1 cap)
23. Lagi Tuima* (Bristol Ladies, uncapped)

Old Mutual Wealth Series 2017

England 79-5 Canada
Tries: Breach (6), Burford, Dow (2), Cokayne, Packer, Clark, Kildunne
Conversions: Reed (5), Harrison (2)

21st November – Twickenham Stoop (KO 19:45, live Sky Sports Main Event, Sky Sports Action & Sky Sports Mix)
England Women v Canada
Tickets available via

25th November – Twickenham Stadium (KO 17:40, live Sky Sports Arena & Sky Sports Mix)
England Women v Canada

Report courtesy of the RFU