Source: Worcester Valkyries

Valkyries captain named in England squad

  • +1

Worcester Valkyries captain Lark Davies has been named among the England Women replacements for Friday evening’s first Test against Canada at Allianz Park (kick-off 7.30pm, live stream on

The Valkyries hooker will be hoping to add to her three international caps as England look to continue their fine record against Canada, having beaten them 21 times in 25 attempts, including the 2014 Women’s Rugby World Cup final.

The two sides most recently met in Christchurch, New Zealand during the International Women’s Rugby Series in June, with England securing a hard fought 27-20 win.

Head Coach Simon Middleton has named seven uncapped players in the squad while former Valkyries star Rochelle Clark is also named on the bench alongside Davies.

Middleton said “Our priority is to win the series and keep our winning momentum going from last season. With selection, we said from the outset we would pick on form, selecting players who are playing outstandingly well for their clubs. It’s a strong blend of youth and experience.

“I’m excited to see what the new, young players will bring win terms of their skill sets and pace. As a group they are very accomplished and have earned selection based on merit. That’s real testimony to the pathway, the Under 20s and the work they have been doing in their clubs. Alongside our more experienced players we know they will be given a great platform to play off and we have full confidence they will showcase their talents.”

England Women
*denotes uncapped player
15. Danielle Waterman (Wasps FC Ladies, 74 caps)
14. Abigail Dow* (Wasps FC Ladies, uncapped)
13. Rachael Burford (Harlequins Ladies, 72 caps)
12. Amber Reed (Bristol Ladies, 44 caps)
11. Jess Breach* (Harlequins Ladies, uncapped)
10. Katy Daley- Mclean (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks, 91 caps)
9. Leanne Riley (Harlequins Ladies, 13 caps)
1. Vickii Cornborough (Harlequins Ladies, 27 caps)
2. Amy Cokayne (Wasps FC Ladies, 33 caps)
3. Heather Kerr (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks, 10 caps)
4. Abbie Scott (Harlequins Ladies, 21 caps)
5. Rowena Burnfield (Richmond FC, 40 caps)
6. Sarah Hunter © (Loughborough Lightning, 98 caps)
7. Marlie Packer (Saracens Women, 51 caps)
8. Poppy Cleall (Saracens Women, 15 caps)

16. Lark Davies (Worcester Valkyries, 3 caps)
17. Rochelle Clark (Wasps FC Ladies, 129 caps)
18. Hannah Botterman*(Saracens Women, uncapped)
19. Tamara Taylor (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks, 109 caps)
20. Shaunagh Brown* (Harlequins Ladies, uncapped)
21. Caity Mattinson*(Bristol Ladies, uncapped)
22. Zoe Harrison * (Saracens Women, uncapped)
23. Ellie Kildunne *(Gloucester-Hartpury Women’s RFC, uncapped)

Old Mutual Wealth Series 2017
England Women v Canada | Friday 17 November | Allianz Park | Kick-off 7.30pm | Live stream on
England Women v Canada | Tuesday 21 November | Twickenham Stoop |7.45pm | Live on Sky Sports Main Event, Sky Sports Action & Sky Sports Mix)
England Women v Canada | Saturday 25 November | Twickenham Stadium | 5.40pm | Live on Sky Sports Arena & Sky Sports Mix

Report courtesy of Worcester Valkyries