Lightning confirm line-up for inaugural Tyrell’s Premier 15s clash

  • +1

Loughborough Lightning have today released their line-up for their inaugural Tyrell’s Premier 15s clash against Worcester Valkeries on Saturday 16th September.

Rhys Edwards, Lightning Head Coach

The game, which forms part of a double header with the Loughborough men’s National One game against Caldy, will kick off at noon on the 1st XV pitch on Epinal Way.

Leading the way will be Lightning captain Rachel Malcolm, the Scotland international starting at number six and forming part of an extremely strong pack. Her Scotland teammates Sarah Boner and Jenny Maxwell start in the second row and at scrum-half respectively.

England U20 international Katie Trevarthen will lead the line in the front row, whilst senior international Olivia Jones will play number eight.

Of his first selection Head Coach Rhys Edwards commented: “I’m really excited to get the season underway after a long pre-season. Over the summer I have seen a fantastic group of girls come together and work hard and I’m looking forward to seeing how they get on as a new squad in this first outing.

“A number of the girls will head out onto the pitch for the first time including Bethan Zeidler who has transferred from GB Sprint Kayak Programme to Rugby. An unusual move, but she is an extremely exciting prospect and I’m looking forward to watching her develop.

“What’s really pleasing to see in this week’s squad is the success of our new pathway already. There are current University students, alumnae and also a Loughborough College student in Emma Hardy who makes her Premiership debut at just 17 years old! I believe our team has a really good blend of seasoned experience and ambitious youth, and for many of our younger players the chance to play alongside some of the country’s top athletes will provide invaluable experience.

“This is the first step on a very exciting journey for all involved, and one that everybody is very much looking forward to.”

Lightning’s noon kick off is free of charge, so head down to campus and show the ladies your support.

Lightning line-up

  1. Katie Trevarthen
  2. Leah Bartlett
  3. Mags Lowish
  4. Carolina Pasquali
  5. Sarah Bonar
  6. Rachel Malcolm
  7. Becky Noon
  8. Olivia Jones
  9. Jenny Maxwell
  10. Natasha Jones
  11. Celia Quansah
  12. Florence Williams
  13. Hannah Phillip
  14. Bethan Zeidler
  15. Charlotte Pearce
  16. Scarlett Cooper-Wall
  17. Ofure Ugiagbe
  18. Anna Page
  19. Laura Hind
  20. Lucy Nye
  21. Emma Hardy
  22. Lizzie Adam

Report courtesy of Loughborough University