Source: Charlie Crowhurst/Getty Images

02 England Women’s Player of the Year is Tamara Taylor

  • +1

The RPA Players’ Awards 2017 in association with England Rugby took place yesterday evening  at the Battersea Evolution in London.

Tamara Taylor (Photo: England Rugby)

In total ten awards were made on the night but there was only one for women’s rugby.

That award, England Women’s Player of the Year went to to the incredible Tamara Taylor.

Taylor earned her 102nd cap in the Six Nations finale as England won the Grand Slam for the first time since 2011, she is a stalwart on the pitch and a leader on and off and this award, voted by her peers, is a tribute to those qualities.

It must have been a tough choice, however, as the other nominees were Harriet Millar- Mills and Emily Scarratt.

So why only one award for the female players?  Why isn’t there a women’s sevens player and a young player at least?

Emily Scarratt (Photo: Inpho)

Perhaps after the Women’s World Cup this summer, which is being staged in Ireland, the women’s game will receive a little more attention, visibility and recognition, I really hope so.

Here is a list of all the awards and winners from last night:

The 02 England Women’s Player of the Year

Winner: Tamara Taylor

Nominated: Harriet Millar-Mills
Nominated: Emily Scarratt

The RPA Players’ Player of the Year in association with England Rugby

Winner: Jimmy Gopperth – Wasps

Nominated: Elliot Daly – Wasps
Nominated: Owen Farrell – Saracens
Nominated: Louis Picamoles – Northampton Saints
Nominated: Christian Wade – Wasps

Harriet Millar-Mills (Photo: Inpho)

The RPA Young Player of the Year

Winner: Zach Mercer – Bath Rugby

Nominated: Ellis Genge – Leicester Tigers
Nominated: Alex Lozowski – Saracens
Nominated: Joe Marchant – Harlequins
Nominated: Ross Moriarty – Gloucester Rugby

The England Player of the Year in association with Beats

Winner: Owen Farrell

Nominated: Joe Launchbury
Nominated: Courtney Lawes

The Secure Trading England Sevens Player of the Year

Winner: Richard de Carpentier

Nominated: Ruaridh McConnochie
Nominated: Tom Mitchell
Nominated: Dan Norton

The Greene King IPA Championship Player of the Year

Winner: Mark Bright – Ealing Trailfinders

Nominated: Ryan Burrows – Yorkshire Carnegie
Nominated: James Marshall – London Irish

The Personal Development Programme Award

Winner: Nick de Luca – Wasps

Nominated: Tom Court – London Irish
Nominated: Sam Smith – Former Worcester Warriors and Harlequins

The RPA Special Merit Award in association with Premiership Rugby

Winner: Nick Easter

The RPA Blyth Spirit Award in association with Towergate Insurance

Winner: Paul Van-Zandvliet

The RPA Hall of Fame Induction in association with KPMG

Winner: Dan Carter

Information courtesy of the RPA