Source: Nottingham Trent

RFU announces university partnership

  • +1

The Rugby Football Union (RFU) has announced a partnership with 15 universities across the country, pledging to invest two hundred and twenty thousand pounds into further strengthening the governing body’s commitment to supporting and growing the game within the higher education sector.

Those university partners (listed below) will plan and deliver a rugby participation programme which incorporates the student rugby club and provide activity for players in all formats of men’s and women’s rugby.

Since 2015, the RFU has worked in a close partnership with the Students RFU (SRFU) and British Universities and Colleges Sport (BUCS) to develop and deliver university partnerships, inviting universities across the country to apply for a partnership. The RFU carried out 1 to 1 interviews with universities in order to select the final 15 to be offered the three-year deal.

Mark Saltmarsh, Head of Education and Development at the RFU said: “The 15 selected partner institutions will be leading examples of universities who will provide a high level of commitment and a quality standard of rugby that will help enhance the experience for players of all abilities.  Their commitment to this concept has been excellent and we can’t wait to get started with them.

“Our aim is that the new partnerships provide fantastic playing opportunities for students of all levels and abilities and further grow the game in the sector and the numbers of players continuing to play in rugby clubs when they leave.”

The 15 institutions will have a set of annual KPIs set against five possible areas:

  1. Partnership delivery –ways of working together and general rules of engagement
  2. Participation development – growing and maintaining participation levels in their rugby union programme
  3. Men’s 15-a-side rugby aligned to a competition model for those participating teams
  4. Sevens – both at a performance and recreational level linked to the England pathway
  5. Women’s rugby – hubs providing support for players in the 15-a-side and Sevens programme

The additional funding support from the RFU will assist in further developing player, coach and facility standards across the universities for the men’s 15-a-side teams.  It will ensure a higher quality offer for a greater number of men’s teams in the institution as well as provide additional support to those participating in the new BUCS national league.

The England Women’s rugby programme has identified the university sector as a key potential source of support for its elite and emerging elite players. Working across six hub sites, the partnership will drive improvements in the women’s elite game through focussed support for talented players.

There will be four sevens hubs created with two further institutions delivering recreational sevens. The university sector has been highlighted in the RFU Strategy for Sevens as a significant contributor to the growth of sevens in terms of the engagement of more university students on a recreational basis as well as and the identification, development and support of talented players within the England Sevens pathway.

Vince Mayne, BUCS CEO, said, “By investing in university rugby with this programme, the RFU has once again demonstrated their commitment to the future of the sport in this country and the pursuit of excellence. BUCS looks forward to working with the RFU to enhance student rugby, providing opportunities for athletes to forge a dual career on and off the pitch.”

Through strengthening existing teams and growing new links with community clubs and other rugby-playing institutions, the RFU partnership will provide additional playing opportunities and outlets for students to play the sport, creating over 30 new teams across the universities in the first year.

The partnership will also be able to track and record students involved in all rugby-related activities to enable the RFU to place rugby-playing leavers in community rugby clubs, ensuring players are integrated into the community clubs following their studies.


University of Leeds

Middlesex University

University of Essex

Durham University

Newcastle University

Northumbria University

Bishop Burton College

Leeds Beckett University

University of Nottingham

Nottingham Trent University

Loughborough University

University of Exeter

University of Bath

Hartpury College

University of Bristol

Pictured above Nottingham Trent University Rugby team

Report courtesy of England Rugby