England name U20 squad to face Canada

  • +1

The England Women U20 squad has been named to take on Canada U20 in a three-game series at Nottingham Trent College this month.

A squad of 26 – including five senior-capped players – will come together for a two-week camp which starts tomorrow (Saturday) before the three matches against the North American age-group team.

Players with senior experience are Poppy Leitch (Bristol), Zoe Aldcroft (Darlington Mowden Park), Sarah Bern (Bristol), and Millie Wood (Lichfield), having all stepped up to play in the Women’s Rugby Super Series last month in USA. Unavailability of three of the U20 hookers also means that Amy Cokayne (Lichfield) joins the squad.

Wood – who made a try-scoring senior debut against Canada in Salt Lake City – will captain the side. Hollie Cunningham (Cleve), Ellie Mulhearn (Cleve) and Lagi Tuima (Plymouth Albion) join the squad for the first time.

Head Coach Jo Yapp said: “We have had a very successful three-day camp at RAF Cosford with the squad last month and the two weeks together will provide the players with a further opportunity to train and play in an international team environment.

“We have a really exciting group of players coming through and we look forward to taking on Canada, who will provide us with tough competition.”

England Women U20 v Canada Women U20 games at Nottingham Trent College

1st match                 Thursday 18 August, KO 5.30pm
2nd match               Monday 22 August, KO 5.30pm
3rd match                Friday 26 August, KO 5.30pm

England U20 Squad

Name (Club, University (Test caps, U20 caps))

Holly Aitchison (Lichfield (0, 2))
Zoe Aldcroft (Darlington Mowden Park, Northumbria University (2, 5))
Sarah Bern (Bristol, University Of Gloucestershire (2, 4))
Jessica Breach (Pulborough (0, 1))
Amy Cokayne (Lichfield, Loughborough University (16, 1))
Hollie Cunningham (Cleve, Hartpury College (uncapped))
Abigail Dow (Wasps (0, 3))
Sydney Gregson (Bristol, University of Bath (3, 5))
Zoe Harrison (Saracens (0, 3))
Lottie Holland (Bristol, University of Bath (0, 5))
Poppy Leitch (Bristol, University of Exeter (6, 2))
Caity Mattinson (Darlington Mowden Park, Northumbria University (0, 1)
Molly Morrissey (Lichfield, Hartpury University (0, 1))
Ellie Mulhearn (Cleve, Filton (uncapped))
Rebecca Noon (Lichfield, Nottingham Trent University (0, 6))
Lucy Nye (Lichfield, Loughborough University (0, 5))
Catherine O’Donnell (Waterloo, University of Liverpool (0, 5))
Ellena Perry (Saracens (0, 3)
Kelly Smith (Worcester, Hartpury University (0, 3))
Sally Stott (Edinburgh University (0, 3)
Katie Trevarthen (Lichfield, Coventry University (0, 4)
Lagi Tuima (Plymouth Albion (uncapped)
Hannah West (Wasps, Brunel University (0, 3)
Anna Wolf (Darlington Mowden Park, Northumbria University (0, 2)
Millie Wood (Lichfield, University of Gloucestershire, (3, 8) ©
Rachael Woosey (Darlington Mowden Park (0, 3)