Source: Gino D'Andrea

Shortlist for 2015/16 UEFA Best Player in Europe Awards

  • +1

UEFA has announced the ten-player shortlist for the 2015/16 UEFA Best Women’s Player in Europe Award, organised in conjunction with the European Sports Media (ESM) group.

The shortlist has been selected by the coaches of the twelve top-ranked teams in the official UEFA women’s national team coefficient ranking, together with the coaches of the eight teams which took part in last season’s UEFA Women’s Champions League quarter-finals. Former number 1. FFC Frankfurt and Germany forward Célia Šašić won last season’s award.

The shortlist of the ten players in alphabetical order is:

Camille Abily (France, Olympique Lyonnais);

Ada Hegerberg (Norway, Olympique Lyonnais);

Amandine Henry (France, Olympique Lyonnais/Portland Thorns FC);

Saki Kumagai (Japan, Olympique Lyonnais);

Eugenie Le Sommer (France, Olympique Lyonnais);

Amel Majri (Tunisia, Olympique Lyonnais);

Dszenifer Marozsán (Germany, 1. FFC Frankfurt/Olympique Lyonnais);

Louisa Necib (France, Olympique Lyonnais);

Alexandra Popp (Germany, VfL Wolfsburg);

Wendie Renard (France, Olympique Lyonnais)

In total, 39 players received votes in the initial poll; those not in the final shortlist are named below in order of how they finished:

11 Pernille Harder (Linköping & Denmark)

12 Vivianne Miedema (Bayern München & Netherlands)

13 Ramona Bachmann (Wolfsburg & Switzerland)

14 Kim Little (Melbourne City/Seattle Reign & Scotland)

15 Almuth Schult (Wolfsburg & Germany)

15 Caroline Seger (Paris Saint-Germain/Lyon & Sweden)

17 Lara Dickenmann (Wolfsburg & Switzerland)

18 Marta (Rosengård & Brazil)

19 Nilla Fischer (Wolfsburg & Sweden)

19 Sara Björk Gunnarsdóttir (Rosengård/Wolfsburg & Iceland)

19 Isabell Herlovsen (LSK Kvinner & Norway)

19 Irene Paredes (Athletic Club/Paris Saint-Germain & Spain)

19 Lotta Schelin (Lyon/Rosengård & Sweden)

24 Cristiane (Paris Saint-Germain & Brazil)

24 Caroline Graham Hansen (Wolfsburg & Norway)

26 Pauline Bremer (Lyon & Germany)

26 Shirley Cruz Traña (Paris Saint-Germain & Costa Rica)

26 Sara Däbritz (Bayern München & Germany)

26 Zsanett Jakabfi (Wolfsburg & Hungary)

26 Vicky Losada (Arsenal & Spain)

26 Anja Mittag (Paris Saint-Germain & Germany)

26 Jill Scott (Manchester City & England)

33 Lena Goessling (Wolfsburg & Germany)

34 Melanie Behringer (Bayern München & Germany)

34 Stephanie Houghton (Manchester City & England)

34 Amanda Sampedro (Atlético Madrid & Spain)

34 Olivia Schough (Eskilstuna United & Sweden)

34 Barbara Votíková (Slavia Praha & Czech Republic)

34 Tessa Wullaert (Wolfsburg & Belgium)

The jury for the second round of voting is selected by ESM, and will be composed of 20 journalists committed to supporting women’s football, with the final three nominees scheduled to be revealed on Friday 5 August 2016. The same jury will then cast their votes in the final round to determine the outright winner, who will be announced during the 2016/17 UEFA Champions League group stage draw in Monaco on 25 August.

All three previous winners were from Germany and have now retired: Nadine Angerer (2013), Nadine Kessler (2014), Célia Šašić (2015).

Report courtesy of