Lancashire Thunder welcome Amy Satterthwaite

  • +1

Lancashire Thunder sign New Zealand’s Amy Satterthwaite

After the withdrawal of Australian Sarah Coyte from the squad, Thunder have signed experienced New Zealand international Amy Satterthwaite for the inaugural Kia Super League season.

Powerful top order batsman and useful off-spinner Amy Satterthwaite will join West Indian duo Deandra Dottin and Hayley Matthews as the third overseas star for Lancashire Thunder at the Emirates Old Trafford this summer.  Satterthwaite made her New Zealand debut in 2007 and has since played in 80 One-Day Internationals (ODI) and 71 Twenty20 Internationals (T20I), recording two ODI centuries alongside boasting best T20I bowling figures of 6-17 against England.

Kia Super League General Manager, Jo Kirk, said: “With just over six weeks to go until the start of the Kia Super League there is a growing level of excitement and buzz around the competition, with all six teams now in full swing preparing for the opening weekend of action on 30th and 31st July.

“We are absolutely delighted with the calibre of overseas players that all six teams have been able to secure, and we look forward to welcoming all 18 of them to England this summer.”

Bobby Cross, Lancashire Thunder General Manager, added: “We are delighted to be welcoming Amy Satterthwaite to Emirates Old Trafford to join the Lancashire Thunder squad. To be able to bring a player of Amy’s experience and ability into the group is very exciting for us and I am sure she will fit in well. The fact she will be here for the warm up games prior to the competition is great news for the captain and coaching staff.”

Lancashire Thunder players:

  • Kate Cross (England Women)
  • Sarah Taylor (England Women) – captain
  • Danielle Wyatt (England Women)
  • Deandra Dottin (Overseas International – West Indies)
  • Hayley Matthews (Overseas International – West Indies)
  • Amy Satterthwaite (Overseas International – New Zealand)
  • Sophie Ecclestone (England Women’s Academy)
  • Emma Lamb (England Women’s Academy)
  • Ellie Threlkeld (England Women’s Academy)
  • Natalie Brown
  • Georgia Holmes
  • Laura Marshall
  • Natasha Miles
  • Laura MacLeod
  • Nalisha Patel

Report courtesy of the LCB