Source: Getty Images

England women to play West Indies in 5-match ODI series

  • +1

The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) has confirmed that England women will travel to the West Indies in October 2016 to play a five-match One-Day International (ODI) series.

All five fixtures will be played in Jamaica during a two-week window, starting on Saturday 8th and Monday 10th October with the first two ODIs at the Trelawny Stadium in the Montego Bay area of the Caribbean island.  The remaining three ODIs will form England’s sixth round of matches in the ICC Women’s Championship, and will be played at Sabina Park, Kingston on 14th, 16th and 19th October.

England women are currently in sixth position on 13 points in the ICC Women’s Championship – which represents the qualification tournament for the 2017 ICC Women’s World Cup in England – with three matches in hand compared to second placed West Indies (20 points).

England Women’s Head Coach, Mark Robinson, said: “The five match ODI series against the West Indies in Jamaica will be a great test for us.  We all saw during the ICC Women’s World T20 what a talented side they are, and they will be especially dangerous in home conditions.  It should be a really exciting tour and a challenge that we will relish.”

England women will play their final three rounds of the ICC Women’s Championship in 2016 with a home series against Pakistan followed by tours to the West Indies and Sri Lanka before Christmas.


England women’s tour to West Indies 2016 schedule in full:


Date Format Venue
8.10.16 1st ODI Trelawny Stadium, Trelawny
10.10.16 2nd ODI Trelawny Stadium, Trelawny
14.10.16 3rd ODI * Sabina Park, Kingston
16.10.16 4th ODI * Sabina Park, Kingston
19.10.16 5th ODI * Sabina Park, Kingston

* ICC Women’s Championship fixture


ICC Women’s Championship explained: 

The ICC Women’s Championship involves the top eight ranked women’s teams in the world and over a two year period from 2014-2016 all teams will play each other in a three-match ODI series either at home or away to create an ICC WC league table.  The top four teams will qualify for the ICC Women’s World Cup in England in 2017.  Countries finishing in the bottom four will take part in the ICC Women’s World Cup Qualifier in early 2017 against teams from the ICC’s regional structures to determine the final four participants for the event.

Above photo shows West Indies’ Deandra Dottin

Report courtesy of the ECB