Source: Don Miles

Final Kia Super League Squads announced

  • +1

The ECB have now announced the final squads for the Kia Super League and it is exciting to see that several England cricketing superstars, former World Cup and Women’s Ashes winners will line-up alongside future stars in the summer.

It can’t have been easy to pick the final 90 from a pool of 200 potential players but each of the Kia Super League teams has today named a playing squad of 15, which comprises three or four England women’s players, three overseas players, two or three England Women’s Academy players, and six or seven players who have been selected through a county talent identification process.

Following the unveiling of where the England women’s players will be based and which overseas players have been signed, today’s announcement reveals where the very best young talent from the England Women’s Academy will be on show this summer, alongside naming six former England players who will feature in the T20 competition.

Arran Brindle, Beth Morgan and Laura Newton, who retired from international duty in 2014, 2011 and 2007 respectively, will bring 330 international caps and a wealth of Ashes and World Cup winners’ experience to the Southern Vipers, Surrey Stars and Lancashire Thunder.  Meanwhile Western Storm will be able to call on 2005 Women’s Ashes winner Rosalie Fairbairn (née Birch), and former England cricketers, left-arm seamer Laura Spragg and wicket-keeper Lauren Griffiths have been included in the  Yorkshire Diamonds and Loughborough Lightning squads.

Lancashire Thunder have also today announced that their third international signing will be hard-hitting West Indian top-order batsman, Hayley Matthews.  Matthews won the player of the match award for her sparkling 66 off 45 balls during the recent ICC Women’s World Twenty20 final.  She replaces Australia’s Jess Jonassen in the Thunder squad, after the all-rounder was ruled out of through injury.

ECB Director of England Women’s Cricket, Clare Connor, said: “The momentum behind the new Kia Super League continues to gather pace, and today marks another important piece of the jigsaw as we get set for the competition’s launch later this summer.

“The six squads are well balanced and full of quality, talent, youth and experience.  It is excellent that we have been able to attract the likes of Arran Brindle, Beth Morgan and Laura Newton to play in the competition, alongside giving opportunities to exciting fresh faces from our Academy such as Sophie Ecclestone and Sophie Luff.  Having former World Cup winners and Ashes winners involved will not only strengthen the standard of the competition on the field, it will also bring another level of insight and knowledge, which will assist with meeting our overriding objective for the Kia Super League to bridge the gap between domestic and international cricket.

“With just over three months until the first Kia Super League group match between Yorkshire Diamonds and Loughborough Lightning at Headingley on Saturday 30th July, all six squads are now raring to go.”

Lancashire Thunder


1.    Kate Cross (EW)

2.    Sarah Taylor (EW) (capt)

3.    Danielle Wyatt (EW)

4.    Sarah Coyte (O)

5.    Deandra Dottin (O)

6.    Hayley Matthews (O)

7.    Sophie Ecclestone (EWA)

8.    Emma Lamb (EWA)

9.    Ellie Threlkeld (EWA)

10.  Natalie Brown

11.  Georgia Holmes

12.  Laura Marshall

13.  Natasha Miles

14.  Laura Newton

15.  Nalisha Patel


 Loughborough Lightning


1.    Georgia Elwiss (EW)

2.    Rebecca Grundy (EW)

3.    Amy Jones (EW)

4.    Beth Langston (EW)

5.    Sophie Devine (O)

6.    Ellyse Perry (O)

7.    Dane van Nierkerk (O)

8.    Evelyn Jones (EWA)

9.    Alex MacDonald (EWA)

10.  Georgie Boyce

11.  Thea Brookes

12.  Amy Gauvrit

13.  Lauren Griffiths

14.  Sonia Odedra

15.  Paige Scholfield


 Southern Vipers


1.    Charlotte Edwards (EW) (capt)

2.    Natasha Farrant (EW)

3.    Lydia Greenway (EW)

4.    Suzie Bates (O)

5.    Sara McGlashan (O)

6.    Megan Schutt (O)

7.    Georgia Adams (EWA)

8.    Ellen Burt (EWA)

9.    Katie George (EWA)

10.  Arran Brindle

11.  Isabelle Collis

12.  Daisy Gardner

13.  Alice Macleod

14.  Fi Morris

15.  Carla Rudd


 Surrey Stars


1.    Tammy Beaumont (EW)

2.    Laura Marsh (EW)

3.    Natalie Sciver (EW) (capt)

4.    Rene Farrell (O)

5.    Marizanne Kapp (O)

6.    Meg Lanning (O)

7.    Sophie Dunkley (EWA)

8.    Alex Hartley (EWA)

9.    Bryony Smith (EWA)

10.  Aylish Cranstone

11.  Grace Gibbs

12.  Cordelia Griffith

13.  Raveena Lakhtaria

14.  Beth Morgan

15.  Kirstie White


 Western Storm


1.    Heather Knight (EW) (capt)

2.    Anya Shrubsole (EW)

3.    Fran Wilson (EW)

4.    Lizelle Lee (O)

5.    Rachel Priest (O)

6.    Stafanie Taylor (O)

7.    Freya Davies (EWA)

8.    Sophie Luff (EWA)

9.    Amara Carr

10.  Jodie Dibble

11.  Rosalie Fairbairn

12.  Georgia Hennessy

13.  Sophie Mackenzie

14.  Cait O’Keefe

15.  Izzy Westbury


 Yorkshire Diamonds


1.    Katherine Brunt (EW)

2.    Jenny Gunn (EW)

3.    Danielle Hazell (EW)

4.    Lauren Winfield (EW) (capt)

5.    Alex Blackwell (O)

6.    Beth Mooney (O)

7.    Shabnim Ismail (O)

8.    Hollie Armitage (EWA)

9.    Steph Butler (EWA)

10.  Alice Davidson Richards

11.  Teresa Graves

12.  Katie Levick

13.  Anna Nicholls

14.  Laura Spragg

15.  Katie Thompson


  •  EW = England Women
  • O = Overseas
  • EWA = England Women’s Academy

Kia Super League team names and host details in full:

Team Name Host Details
Lancashire Thunder Lancashire Cricket Board with partners
Loughborough Lightning Loughborough University
Southern Vipers Hampshire Cricket with partners
Surrey Stars Surrey County Cricket Club
Western Storm Somerset County Cricket Club, Gloucestershire County Cricket Club, University of Exeter
Yorkshire Diamonds Yorkshire County Cricket Club


Kia Women’s Cricket Super League 2016 Match Fixtures:

Sat 30 July

Loughborough Lightning v Yorkshire Diamonds – (Headingley, 14.30)

Sun 31 July

Lancashire Thunder v Western Storm – (Cooper Assoc County Ground, Taunton, 14.30)

Southern Vipers v Surrey Stars – (Ageas Bowl, 14.00)

Wed 3 Aug

Lancashire Thunder v Loughborough Lightning – (Haselgrave, 16.30)

Thurs 4 Aug

Surrey Stars v Yorkshire Diamonds – (Kia Oval, 18.30)

Fri 5 Aug

Lancashire Thunder v Southern Vipers – (Blackpool CC, 14.30)

Loughborough Lightning v Western Storm – (Haselgrave, 16.30)

Sun 7 Aug

Western Storm v Western Storm – (Bristol County Ground, 14.30)

Mon 8 Aug

Southern Vipers v Yorkshire Diamonds – (Ageas Bowl Nursery Ground, 14.00)

Tues 9 Aug

Lancashire Thunder v Surrey Stars – (Guildford CC, 14.30)

Fri 12 Aug

Surrey Stars v Loughborough Lightning  – (Haselgrave, 16.30)

Western Storm v Southern Vipers – (Cooper Associates County Ground, Taunton, 17.30)

Lancashire Thunder v Yorkshire Diamonds – (Emirates, Old Trafford, 18.00)

Sun 14 Aug

Southern Vipers v Loughborough Lightning – (Ageas Bowl, 14.00)

Lancashire Thunder v Yorkshire Diamonds – (Emirates, Old Trafford, 18.00)


Report courtesy of ECB