England squad unchanged for Wales match

  • +1

No new names have been added to England Women’s match-day 23 for their game against Wales on Saturday at the Twickenham Stoop, KO 6.05pm.

With the team three from three so far this Six Nations, Lead Coach Scott Bemand has chosen to keep the squad that defeated reigning champions Ireland at Twickenham last time.

The starting XV has been tweaked, with changes to the second row which see Tamara Taylor (pictured above) start to earn her 90th England cap, Emily Braund wears 4 (from 5), moving Abbie Scott to blindside flanker and Harriet Millar-Mills to start on the bench.

Bemand said: “We believe we have the right squad to take on Wales at the Twickenham Stoop on Saturday. We know what an important game this is – Wales will come with confidence after their recent win where their defence was impressive to hold off the French.

“The starting XV have a total of 568 caps between them – that is a significant amount of international experience. We have kept building momentum into the tournament, the team has improved with each win and we look forward to having the support of a home crowd, in what is sure to be another tough challenge.”

England kicked off their 2016 Six Nations campaign with a 0-32 win to Scotland, followed by a hard fought 24-33 win to Italy, before seeing off champions from the last two years Ireland 13-9 at Twickenham to put them top of the Six Nations table.

The match will kick-off at 6.05pm with tickets available online here. For those unable to attend, the game will be broadcast live on Sky Sports 5 and BBC 5 Live Sports Extra.

England match-day 23 to face Wales

15. Katie Mason (Bristol, 8 caps)
14. Lydia Thompson (Worcester, 20 caps)
13. Lauren Cattell (Saracens, 16 caps)
12. Ceri Large (Worcester, 45 caps)
11. Lotte Clapp (Saracens, 5 caps)
10. Amber Reed (Bristol, 27 caps)
9. La Toya Mason (Darlington Mowden Park, 52 caps)

1. Rochelle Clark (Worcester, 108 caps)
2. Emma Croker (Richmond, 61 caps)
3. Vickii Cornborough (Richmond, 12 caps)
4. Emily Braund (Lichfield, 21 caps)
5. Tamara Taylor (Darlington Mowden Park, 89 caps)
6. Abbie Scott (Darlington Mowden Park, 13 caps)
7. Izzy Noel-Smith (Bristol, 15 caps)
8. Sarah Hunter (Bristol, 76 caps)


16. Amy Cokayne (Lichfield, 11 caps)
17. Heather Kerr (Darlington Mowden Park, 5 caps)
18. Bianca Dawson (Wasps, 3 caps)
19. Harriet Millar-Mills (Lichfield, 29 caps)
20. Poppy Leitch (Bristol, 2 caps)
21. Bianca Blackburn (Worcester, 11 caps)
22. Poppy Cleall (Saracens, 2 caps)
23. Leanne Riley (Richmond, 8 caps)