Source: England Rugby

Simon Middleton names 7s squad for São Paulo

  • +1
Dubai. United Arab Emirates. Natasha Hunt of England Women’s Sevens in action during England Women 7s and France Women 7s at the IRB Women's Sevens World Series at 7he Sevens Stadium Dubai, UAE on day 2 . Dubai Emirates Airline 7s on December 5, 2014.

Alice Richardson (Photo: England Rugby)

England Women Head Coach Simon Middleton has named the squad for the second leg of the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series which takes place 20-21 February in São Paulo, Brazil.

The 12-strong squad, led by captain Emily Scarratt, will fly to Brazil on Tuesday 16 February for the two-day competition. Having finished third in the opening leg of the series in Dubai in November, the team will be looking to capitalise on that performance in the host country for the 2016 Rio Olympic Games. The team finished that weekend beating France in a dramatic extra-time play-off, and meet the side in the opening pools this time.

England squad for the São Paulo Sevens: Claire Allan, Natasha Brennan, Heather Fisher, Vicky Fleetwood, Natasha Hunt, Sarah Mckenna, Katy Mclean, Marlie Packer, Alice Richardson, Emily Scarratt (C), Jo Watmore, Amy Wilson-Hardy.

Middleton said: “The girls made a good start in Dubai and since then they have been training and working hard to improve their performance. The depth of our squad means that we have 12 players all capable of making an impact, which puts us in a strong position heading into the competition.

“This tournament will really help our preparations as we build with the ultimate aim of being in the best possible shape come August.”

England have been drawn in Pool C and will play Japan in the opening game (13:00 GMT), before taking on hosts Brazil (15:44 GMT) and France (1828 GMT). Play offs will take place from 13:00 GMT on Sunday 21 February.


Pool A

Australia, Canada, Fiji, Ireland

Pool B

Russia, New Zealand, Spain, USA

Pool C

England, France, Japan, Brazil


Full schedule:

Day One

Match 1 England v Japan 11:00

Match 2 France v Brazil 11:22

Match 3 Australia v Fiji 11:44

Match 4 Canada v Ireland 12:06

Match 5 Russia v Spain 12:28

Match 6 New Zealand v USA 12:50

Match 7 England v Brazil 13:44

Match 8 France v Japan 14:06

Match 9 Australia v Ireland 14:28

Match 10 Canada v Fiji 14:50

Match 11 Russia v USA 15

Match 12 New Zealand v Spain 15:34

Match 13 England v France 16:28

Match 14 Japan v Brazil 16:50

Match 15 Austraila v Canada 17:12

Match 16 Fiji v Ireland 17:34

Match 17 Russia v New Zealand 17:56

Match 18 Spain v USA 18:18

Day two

Match 19 QF Cup 1 – Pool A 1st place v 2nd best 3rd place 11:00

Match 20 QF Cup 2 – Pool B 1st place v best 3rd place 11:22

Match 21 QF Cup 3- Pool C 1st place v Pool A 2nd place 11:44

Match 22 QF Cup 4 – Pool B 2nd place v Pool C second place 12:06

Match 23 SF Bowl – 3rd best 3rd place v 3rd best 4th place 12:28

Match 24 SF Bowl – Best 4th place v 2nd best 4th place 12:50

Match 25 SF Plate – Losers M19 v M22 14:28

Match 26 SF Plate – Losers M20 v M21 14:50

Match 27 Cup SF – Winners M19 v M22 15:12

Match 28 Cup SF – Winners M20 v M21 15:34

Match 29 11th Place – Losers M23 v M24 15:56

Match 30 Bowl Final – Winners M23 v M24 16:58

Match 31 7th Place – Losers M25 v M26 17:26

Match 32 Plate Final – Winners M25 v M26 17:48

Match 33 3rd Place – Losers M27 v M28 18:16

Match 34 Cup Final – Winners M27 v M28 18:41


For fans wishing to catch all of the action live, this is possible through online streaming, available on World Rugby’s own website Highlights will also be broadcast on Sky Sports News.

Report courtesy of  England Rugby