Source: Loughborough University

Loughborough University announced as Super League host

  • +1

The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) has today announced that Loughborough University has been named as one of the six hosts that will compete in the inaugural Women’s Cricket Super League this summer.

The announcement follows a rigorous bidding process over the last six months, which saw 28 different organisations express an interest in becoming a Women’s Cricket Super League host.  The award process culminated today, when the ECB Board approved the six selected hosts.

The six Women’s Cricket Super League hosts in full are:

Hampshire Cricket with partners: Berkshire Cricket Ltd, Dorset Cricket Board, Isle of Wight Cricket Board, Oxfordshire Cricket, Southampton Solent University, Sussex Cricket Ltd, Wiltshire Cricket Ltd

Lancashire County Cricket Board with partners: Lancashire County Cricket Club, Lancashire County Cricket Club Foundation

Loughborough University

South West: Somerset County Cricket Club, Gloucestershire County Cricket Club, University of Exeter

Surrey County Cricket Club

Yorkshire County Cricket ClubThe Women’s Cricket Super League will start this summer with Loughborough University competing in a Twenty20 (T20) event against the other five teams.  Thereafter the competition will include both T20 and 50-over formats.  All six teams have been awarded hosting rights for a four year period from 2016-2019 inclusive.

The full release is available to view here.

Keep up to date with Loughborough University’s Women’s Cricket Super League franchise by signing up here.