Source: Ben Hoskins - The FA/The FA via Getty Images

Steph Houghton & Fara Williams recognised in New Year’s Honours

  • +1

The New Year’s Honours list 2016 recognises the contribution of women across a variety of sports this year including inspirational England Captain Steph Houghton and Fara Williams from the world of football.

We are delighted to see England and Manchester City’s Steph Houghton awarded an MBE for her services to football alongside England team-mate Fara Williams – the Liverpool midfielder has earned 148 caps for her country and also earns an MBE for her services to football and charity.

Jacqui Oatley is honoured for services to broadcasting and diversity in sport with an MBE while Sue Barker is also honoured for services to broadcasting and charity earning an OBE.

Tracey Neville

Source: England Netball

Tracey Neville (Photo: England Netball)

England Netball coach, Tracey Neville earns an MBE for her sterling work in netball after England’s netball team won bronze at the World Cup in Australia.

A significant award goes to Heather Rabbats who is made a Dame Commander for her services to football and equality – terrific that her work is being recognised as the only female and ethnic minority on the FA Board which cannot be an easy position.

The full list of women in sport mentioned in the Honours list is as follows:

Dame Commander of the Order of the British Empire

Heather Victoria Rabbatts, CBE – for public service and services to Football and Equality

Commanders of the Order of the British Empire

Annamarie Phelps Chairman, British Rowing – for services to Rowing.

Officers of the Order of the British Empire

Susan Barker, MBE Sports Commentator. For services to Broadcasting and charity.

Sally Peck – For services to the community through Education and Sport in Bedford and the Eastern Region

Catherine Mary Sabin President, Lawn Tennis Association – for services to Tennis

Christine Ann Wellington, MBE Former Triathlete and Ironman World Champion – for services to Sport and charity.

Members of the Order of the British Empire

Yvonne Janet Anderson Vice-Chair, Special Olympics Scotland – for services to the Special Olympics.

Carol Mary Bottomley Higher Executive Officer, West Midlands Regional Team, Academies Group, Department for Education – for services to Education and voluntary service to Sport in Darlington

Janice Carol Eaglesham Co-Founder, Red Star Athletics Club – for services to Disability Sport

The Honourable Heather Margaret Anne Galloway Galbraith – for services to Equestrianism in Ayrshire

Stephanie Jayne Houghton Captain, England Women’s Football Team and Manchester City Women’s Football Club – for services to Football

Gaynor Jones For voluntary service to Golf and the Development of Women’s Golf in Wales

Eva Margaret Lambert – for services to Sport, Education and Health in the community in Huddersfield, West Yorkshire

Dianne McMillan – for services to Swimming and Disability Awareness

Tracey Neville Head Coach, England Netball Squad – for services to Netball

Jacqueline Anne Oatley Sports Broadcaster and Board Member, Women in Football – for services to Broadcasting and Diversity in Sport

Anne Whitworth – for services to Hockey in the North East

Fara Williams Midfielder, England Women and Liverpool Ladies – for services to Women’s Football and charity

Medallist of the Order of the British Empire

Sharon Lesley Blackman Head Coach, Chichester Fencing Club – for services to Fencing

Valerie Blake – for services to the Arrow Riding Centre for the Disabled in Dartford, Kent

Elizabeth Heather Gibbons – for services to Riding for the Disabled in South West Cornwall

Alison Ruth Grant Chair, Hillingdon Slipstreamers Cycling Club – for services to Cycling

Mary Diana Ethel Thornley – for services to Equestrianism

Hazel Dawn Woodbridge – for services to Carriage Driving in Wiltshire


The Honours List 2016 in its entirety can be seen here.