Sarah Hunter to lead England in Rugby Super Series opener

  • +1

England Women’s Head Coach Simon Middleton has announced his starting line-up for Saturday’s Rugby Super Series opener against the USA at Calgary Rugby Park, kick off at 11pm BST on Saturday 27th June.

Lichfield’s Sarah Hunter will captain a young England side that includes two players, Lark Davies and Rachael Lund, who could make their England debuts if called off the bench. Amy Cockayne, Abbie Scott and Bianca Blackburn will also get the chance to get more caps under their belts after making their first England starts in this season’s Six Nations.

At the other end of the scale, Rochelle Clark will become England Women’s most capped player of all time with 101 caps if she comes off the bench. Hunter is joined by fellow World Cup winners Laura Keates, Marlie Packer, Ceri Large, Amber Reed and Kay Wilson in the starting line-up.

Middleton, who heads to Canada also with a new coaching line-up in Scott Bemand and Matt Ferguson, said: “Given the tight turnaround of games in this tournament, and the fact that several of the players were involved in the Rugby Europe Sevens Grand Prix this month, squad rotation is going to be key. This is a really intense tournament against world class opposition so we need to ensure the players are fit and ready for each Test.”

“For this game, Sarah’s experience will be invaluable in leading the team while I am really excited to see how Emily Scott goes at fly-half and Ceri Large at centre. We have two new caps on the bench who I know have the potential to make a real impression while Rochelle will relish getting the chance to secure 101 caps.”

“We haven’t played the USA for some time but we know they will bring a lot of physicality, pace, energy and enthusiasm. This is going to be a tough opening Test match.”


15 Sarah McKenna (Saracens)

14 Kay Wilson (Thurrock)

13 Amber Reed (Bristol) VC

12 Ceri Large (Worcester)

11 Katie Mason (Bristol)

10 Emily Scott (Thurrock)

9 Bianca Blackburn (Worcester)

1 Vicky Cornborough (Richmond)

2 Amy Cockayne (Lichfield)

3 Laura Keates (Worcester)

4 Rowena Burnfield (Richmond)

5 Abbie Scott (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks)

6 Hannah Gallagher (Saracens)

7 Marlie Packer (Wasps)

8 Sarah Hunter (Lichfield) C


16 Rochelle Clark (Worcester)

17 Lark Davis (Worcester)

18 Justine Lucas (Lichfield)

19 Tamara Taylor (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks)

20 Alexandra Matthews (Richmond)

21 Leanne Riley (Saracens)

22 Emily Scarratt (Lichfield)

23 Rachel Lund (Worcester)

Rugby Super Series Fixtures

27 June 2015

England v USA, KO 11pm BST

Canada v NZ, KO 1.30am BST (June 28)

Calgary Rugby Park

1 July 2015

England v NZ, KO 11pm BST

Canada v USA, KO 1.30am BST (July 2)

Red Deer Titans Park

5 July 2015

New Zealand v USA, KO 11pm BST

England v Canada, 1.30am BST (July 6)

Ellerslie Rugby Park, Edmonton

All matches can be watched live here.