Source: Alex Whitehead/

LCB Women’s Team have new brand name

  • +1

A brand new logo has been designed and in years to come this will become the main logo for the team. As Women’s cricket moves forward creating more media interest and raising its profile it was felt that LCB needed to stay ahead of the game with their Senior Women’s side.

Women-Lancashire_Thunder_449283427This branding will hopefully help promote the squad, results, performances and the game overall in Lancashire.

Bobby Denning, LCB Managing Director commented on the new name: “This is a big step forward for women’s cricket and the Lancashire Cricket Board. We at LCB want to stay ahead of the game.  Our Mission Statement is ‘To be the best in the business to developing cricket’ and we believe this is a great way to increase media coverage of the game, make the game attractive to new players and retain players within women’s cricket.”

Stephen Titchard, LCB Performance Manager and LCB THUNDER Head Coach reflected on the shift in thinking. He added: “As the Men’s and Women’s games begin to get closer together in terms of coverage and interest we wanted to make the women’s county squad attractive to followers, players and young aspiring County Age Group players. This is a great step in the right direction and will hopefully give the media a great way to promote both teams alongside each other.”

Jen Laycock LCB Women and Girls Cricket Development Officer said: “This is great news for both county cricket but also for the development of the game. As clubs work hard to promote the women and girls game at local level, something very sellable at the top end is so important. We have seen the power of this with the ECB Women and the coverage they have had. I believe this is the first step towards making women and girls’ cricket at all levels more accessible and more attractive. It’s the right time to bring the new name in with the women playing in coloured kit for the first time this year.”

Follow on Twitter @LCBWandG for up to date scores, match reports and stories covering the LCB THUNDER through the season. We will be using #LCBTHUNDER throughout the season to promote the new name.


LCB Thunder Squad List 2015

3. Jasmine Titmuss – Captain 

16. Kate Cross – Vice Captain

6. Emma Lamb

10. Natalie Brown

9. Jessica Couser

18. Shachi Pai

15. Nalisha Patel

17. Rachel Dickinson

21. Eleanor Threlkeld

2. Georgia Holmes

1. Meg Phillips

19. Sophie Ecclestone

7. Hannah Jones

4. Megan Fairclough

14. Bhumika Doshi

12. Laura Marshall