Source: Getty Images for ECB

ICC Awards

  • +1

The annual ICC Awards is an opportunity to celebrate the games heroes.  The awards have honoured some of the biggest names in men’s and women’s international cricket.

This year the ICC LG People’s Choice Award was won by Bhuvneshwar Kumar.  He becomes the fourth cricketer to win this award after Sachin Tendulkar (first ever recipient) in 2010, Sri Lanka’s Kumar Sangakkara in 2011 and 2012 and India Captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni in 2013.

The other nominees this year were England women’s Captain Charlotte Edwards (the first woman nominated for this award), Australian fast bowler Mitchell Johnson, Sri Lanka Captain Angelo Matthews and South African fast bowler Dale Steyn.

A full list of this year’s winners is:

ICC Cricketer of the Year (Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy) – Mitchell Johnson (Australia)

ICC Test Cricketer of the Year – Mitchell Johnson (Australia)

ICC Women’s ODI Cricketer of the Year – Sarah Taylor (England)

ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year – AB de Villiers (South Africa)

ICC Emerging Cricketer of the Year – Gary Ballance (England)

ICC Associate and Affiliate Cricketer of the Year – Preston Mommsen (Scotland)

ICC Twenty20 International Performance of the Year – Aaron Finch (Australia)

ICC T20I Women’s Cricketer of the Year – Meg Lanning (Australia)

ICC Spirit of Cricket Award – Katherine Brunt (England)

ICC Umpire of the Year (winning the David Shepherd Trophy) – Richard Kettleborough

LG People’s Choice – Bhuvneshwar Kumar (India)

ICC Test Team of the Year is as follows (in batting order):

David Warner (Aus)

Kane Williamson (NZ)

Kumar Sangakkara (SL)

AB de Villiers (SA) (wicketkeeper)

Joe Root (Eng)

Angelo Mathews (SL) (captain)

Mitchell Johnson (Aus)

Stuart Broad (Eng)

Dale Steyn (SA)

Rangana Herath (SL)

Tim Southee (NZ)

Ross Taylor (NZ) (12th man)


ICC ODI Team of the Year is as follows (in batting order):

Mohammad Hafeez (Pak)

Quinton de Kock (SA)

Virat Kohli (Ind)

George Bailey (Aus)

AB de Villiers (SA)

MS Dhoni (Ind) (wicketkeeper) (captain)

Dwayne Bravo (WI)

James Faulkner (Aus)

Dale Steyn (SA)

Mohammad Shami (Ind)

Ajantha Mendis (SL)

Rohit Sharma (Ind) (12th man)